Where Exactly Does It Say Jesus Died for My Sins?

Sometimes it’s refreshing to see it in ink!

Michael Murray
Nobody Left Out

--

“Jesus died for your sins.”

If you’re a Christian, you’ve probably heard that a lot. Sometimes it can grow stale.

I know Jesus died for my sins the same way I know Olive Garden has awesome breadsticks. I’m happy about it, but it doesn’t always affect my everyday life.

Even when we open our Bibles, the truth doesn’t of the gospel doesn’t always hit us. Yes — it’s written on every page, but not always in direct ways. Sometimes it’s more hidden, and you start to wonder, “Is this whole Jesus thing too good to be true? Did I misunderstand the offer?!”

Last night I was reading the book of Hebrews, and suddenly the truth (and joy) of the gospel hit me across the face. It’s as if the author of Hebrews wanted to remind us of it in a palpable way.

Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. But when this priest [AKA, Jesus] had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God, and since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool. For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy. (Hebrews…

--

--

Michael Murray
Nobody Left Out

Just a broken, messy guy trying to follow Jesus one shaky step at a time. Get my free 5-day devotional here ➜ https://www.subscribepage.com/nobodyleftoutmedium.