An Insight on Jack Howell and Spring Practices.

Phoenix Behrens
5 min readMar 1, 2023

--

This spring, the Colorado State football team will begin their spring practices on March 21st. Every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, players will be working with Jay Norvell in his second year as a head coach to really hone the edges of this team with the hopes of reaching, and winning, the Mountain West Conference championship. I had the chance to interview CSU defensive back, Jack Howell, after reaching out to him via Instagram to really know what is going on with the team as they prepare for the upcoming Green and Gold Game on Saturday, April 22nd.

Jack Howell making a tackle against a Hawai’i ball carrier. (Photo credits: CSU Athletics Commission)

Jack Howell is going into the 2023 season as a junior with the Rams. He had a very impressive sophomore season with the Rams a year after winning 2021 FWAA Freshman All-American and was even a Mountain West Freshman of the Week last year after playing against then #4 Iowa. If the name “Howell” may ring a bell for older fans of CSU football, it’s because his father John Howell was a former CSU defensive back and was even drafted to the Tampa Buccaneers in 2001. Growing up in Fort Collins and even playing high school football with Valor Christian, even winning a state championship in 2018, has led him here to CSU and is now one of the leaders of this team hoping to lead this team to some championships!

Phoenix:
To start off Jack I want to ask: How do you feel going into this year’s spring practices with Jay Norvell in his 2nd year as a head coach and is there anything different about this year compared to last year?

Jack Howell:
We are really excited that we are under coach Norvell’s system and can’t wait to get back into the swing of things. We feel like we have everything we need to compete for a (Mountain West) Conference Championship. We feel like we know the system of the offense, defense, and special teams better and it will allow us to compete this year.

Phoenix:
I know I speak for everyone at CSU when I say that we want to see the Rams win a Mountain West Championship so bad, and you guys absolutely deserve it! I know a lot of guys transferred during the season after the rough 0–4 start, but now there are new players on the team coming through recruiting and the transfer portal, what’s the moral of the players in that locker room going into spring practice and have you reached out to any of the new transfers?

Jack Howell:
Me too! The school could use it. Last year we weeded out who was truly a Ram and who was looking elsewhere. We are excited that we are with a team of people where everyone wants to be bought in and give their all for the rams. It’s hard to win games with people who have one foot in and one foot out. We have gotten a lot of solid transfer players that we are excited about and anyone who has already gotten here has been welcomed in like family.

Phoenix:
As a Ram fan growing up, I know how important rivalry games are and this will be the first CSU football team to face CU since 2019. On top of the already heated rivalries the Rams have with the Falcons and the Cowboys, two teams the Rams have struggled to beat in the past decade. Does the upcoming season schedule really fuel the practices this spring and are the coaches really making it a priority this year to beat the CU Buffs and win those rivalry games when going into the Green and Gold Game?

Jack Howell:
Everyone on the team has CU and Wyoming circled. CU never even gave me a look. Now I get to go into Folsom and show them something. The coaches make every game a priority but when it comes to rivalry games, coaches and players always have an edge and a chip on their shoulder.

Phoenix:
You especially as a player have really broken out onto the scene last year! Having 3 INTs last year (against non-conference opponents nonetheless) after being named FWAA Freshman All-American along with a dominant 108 tackles in that backfield to cap off your sophomore year. What’s going to be more of an evaluation for you this year as you go into the junior year of spring practices, more of the ball-hawking coverage skills or the tackling on all cylinders?

Jack Howell:
I really appreciate it! The mental side will be huge for me and understanding not only the defense but offense schemes as well. I want to keep improving on tackling and man coverage.

Phoenix:
How do you feel about the upcoming Green and Gold game and what are you most excited about for the scrimmage?

Jack Howell:
I’m most excited to see the new additions to the offense and to continue where we left of with the defense. I think we have a really solid defense this year and it will be fun to play in.

Phoenix:
Going into your junior year I’m sure you bring out a lot of your craft on the field from your dad who is a former CSU defensive back that was drafted to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2001 and even won a Super Bowl with the team, how much of his influence would you say he has on your playstyle and does it continue to bring out the best in you as you look forward to this year and the future?

Jack Howell:
I would say my dad made me the player I am. He developed me into the college player I am but what I take most from him is his mentality. To never quit and be the toughest player on the field. He developed me into the man I am today and gave me a never break mentality.

Phoenix:
Lastly, what are your goals for this year in terms of milestones and while it may be early to think about now, but do you see yourself as future draft pick in the NFL once your time is done with CSU and is that the sort of “Final Destination” in your journey?

Jack Howell:
I want to win a conference championship first and foremost. I also want to earn all American honors again. I believe I’m one of the best safeties in the country. I want to prove that to everyone this year and leave no doubt. I want to just keep having fun and following wherever God takes me. I do want to play in the NFL and that has always been my goal.

Phoenix:
Thank you so much Jack for taking the time to answer some of my questions! Best believe I’ll be rooting for you guys this upcoming season and hope you stay safe and play hard this spring! It’s a big year ahead and this team is more than capable of taking the Ram by the horns and steering it into the Conference Championship! Best of luck to you and your future!

Jack Howell:
Always happy to help another Ram and we will get it done! It won’t be like the past…

--

--

Phoenix Behrens

I am a Journalism and Media Communication major at Colorado State University. Currently working with the tide and feeling out the waters of the real world <3.