An Interview with a Park Stranger

Taylor Hunt
NoCo Now
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2022

This past weekend, I was at Spring Canyon Community Park searching for someone to interview. After a few people declined the interview, a college student named Nate Cooper accepted the interview. Cooper explained he has been a resident in Fort Collins for a couple of years while attending Colorado State University as a student.

I didn’t have much time for an extensive interview due to it being a random encounter at a park and only a measly 20 degrees outside, but I was able to ask Cooper a few questions about the parks and natural areas of Fort Collins from his point of view.

Taylor: Do you go to many parks or natural areas around Fort Collins?

Nate: In my two years of living in Fort Collins, I have been able to explore some of the parks, but I mainly stick around here [Spring Canyon Community Park]. I live nearby, so I take walks a few times a week around the park.

Are there any other parks that you enjoy going to?

Sometimes I go up to City Park and go for a walk around there as that’s on my way to work. Other than that, just the occasional visit to random parks throughout the area.

What do you look for that makes a good park?

I like parks that are diverse. That’s what I love so much about this park. There are big fields and multiple spots to shoot hoops. The addition of the foothills nearby makes this park that much better. Other than that, I appreciate when the parks are well manicured and are cared for.

Are there any improvements the city could make to make this park better?

I think this park is pretty good as is. It’s so big that the different sections of the park feel like completely different parks. I mean how many parks have two sets of playgrounds and two sets of basketball hoops? Fort Collins also does a great job of keeping their parks modern looking and very well kept.

Are you familiar with the natural areas throughout the city as well?

I have noticed signs indicating the natural areas around town. I have walked through a few while walking on some trails, but I haven’t gone out of my way to go to any specific natural area, no. It’s no

Is there a reason you haven’t specifically gone to one?

Nothing in particular. I just usually stick to walking around here and haven’t found a natural area that I’ve walked through that I’ve wanted to return badly enough to drive to that natural area specifically.

Do you think the addition of more signs and more promotion of the city’s parks and natural areas would be beneficial?

Yeah, that would definitely be helpful for the residents here, new ones especially. If I didn’t live only a few blocks away from the park, then I might not have even know this park was here. This park is so tucked away that it’s kind of hard to find.

--

--

Taylor Hunt
NoCo Now
0 Followers
Writer for

Colorado State University Journalism and Media Communication major.