How Running a Small Business Changes in College

Sydney Anderson
3 min readOct 2, 2022

--

Running a small business can come in many forms. Whether that’s a clothing store, coffee shop, or photography business. In Miles’s case, it was the last one. Miles Smith, a first-year student at Colorado State University, moved their photography business with them from their home in Minnesota to Fort Collins. In our interview, Miles talks about the transition of the businesses from the East Coast to the West and what inspired them to start Miles Smith Photography.

Photo courtesy of Miles Smith.

Anderson: Tell me about how you got into photography.

Smith: Since I can remember I have always been taking photos. I loved going into the backyard behind my house and taking photos of everything. Flowers, plants, trees, my dog, literally everything. As I got older, I got super into outdoor photography and taking photos of my friends. My sophomore year of high school before it [Covid lockdown] came, I was starting to take photos of my senior friends. My interest immensely peaked from there.

Tell me about Miles Smith Photography.

I started Miles Smith Photography as just a side gig to make some extra cash from friends. I told them I couldn’t take any crazy fancy photos, but I was willing to give them some good quality pictures before they were able to book with a professional [for senior pictures]. I basically just do freelance work and try to get my stuff out there.

How has your business changed since coming to college?

I haven’t been taking as many photos as I would like to. I had this idea in my head when I came to Fort Collins that I would find friends in the dorm halls who would be willing to shoot or even just get out to somewhere like Horsetooth and take some pictures, but that just hasn’t been the case.

Why do you think that is?

The workload from my classes. As a computer science major, I’ve had a TON of homework and during my free time, I’m choosing to do other things rather than go and shoot. However, I’m finally getting into the swing of things in my classes and I’m planning in time for some exciting projects.

What projects are you planning?

I definitely want to try and shoot some athletic games this year. I would love to be courtside for the basketball games working with the athletics department. As much as I love portraits, I want to start working in other areas, like sports photography and I think that [the basketball games] would be a great place to start.

What advice would you give to a college student who wants to start a photography business?

Just go for it! If you never try, you’ll never know! I think that’s the biggest thing, don’t be worried about failing. I’m just a freshman, still new to this place, trying to find my people and how to run a business. I know I’m going to have high highs and I’m also going to have low lows. But without the lows, the highs would not exist. It doesn’t get easier, but it does get more rewarding. I’m really excited for this chapter of my business and would tell anyone who wants to feel/do the same, to just go for it!

--

--

Sydney Anderson
0 Followers

Journalism and Media Communications at Colorado State University