The Battle of Sustainable Straws

Nicole Rangel Gomez
5 min readNov 2, 2022

--

Photo by Alessia C_Jpg on Unsplash

The topic of being sustainable has been around for a while and one huge area that a lot of people, even restaurants, are focusing on is getting rid of the single use plastic straws for either reusable or biodegradable options.

More than 1 million seabirds and 100,000 marine animals die from plastic pollution every year. — “Plastic in the ocean statistics 2020–2021” Condor Ferries.

I feel like the push for ending the use of single use straws started with the popular phrase “SAVE THE TURTLES!” which is still used to day and has helped a lot of people understand the evils of single use plastic.

There are so many options out there for sustainable straws from metal to grass so The Battle of the Sustainable Straws was bound to happen.

*In this article we will only be going over four different sustainable straws but there are A LOT of different options/versions that we might not talk about here.

Reusable vs Biodegradable

First of all, we need to establish the difference between reusable and biodegradable straws.

  • Reusable straws are exactly what they sound like. Reusable. But even though they are reusable, some materials are not biodegradable, compostable, or recyclable (like silicone)
  • Biodegradable straws biodegrade when thrown out or end up in the ocean. It “is a truly natural process which means that normal environmental conditions make materials decay to acceptable natural products” (YesStraws).

Glass Straws

Pros:

  • Reusable
  • Fancy
  • Reduce exposure to toxic chemicals (BPA Free)
  • See through so you can see if they are clean or dirty.

Cons:

  • Depending on quality: fragile
  • Not safe for travel
  • Not safe for children

I personally don’t like using glass because of the constant fear of them breaking. For me, they are strictly for taking aesthetically pleasing pictures and not for actual use.

Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

Metal Straws

Pros:

  • Super durable
  • Travel Friendly
  • Will last forever if taken care of properly

Cons:

  • Aren’t see through so a bit harder to clean
  • Temperature sensitive
  • Occasional metal taste
  • Hard which can lead to chipped teeth if not careful

I honeslty don’t mind the fact that they are temperature sensitive. In my eyes, it heightens the experience of a cold drink and I usually don’t drink hot things with a straw.

Photo by Célina Rohrbach on Unsplash

Silicone Straws

Pros:

  • Flexible
  • Travel Friendly
  • Soft, you won’t get hurt.
  • Safe for kids

Cons:

  • Eventually will degrade and break
  • Not see through, harder to clean
  • Very bendable, which sometimes isn’t good.

I never really liked silicone straws, it encourages my chewing habit so those straws never last long for me. I like the flexibility to it so i can stuff them anywhere but they still expand the container it comes in and its awkward to carry them around.

Bamboo Straws

Pros:

  • Made from plants! Originates in nature and eventually ends up back in nature.
  • Biodegradable and compostable
  • Cheaper option

Cons:

  • Short life span so you’ll be buying more often than other options.
  • Woody Taste
  • Not dishwasher safe

Bamboo straws are not my favorite. I like the fact that they come from nature and will end up in nature but I hate that I have to be more consious about the cleaning of it. If I clean them wrong or leave them wet for too long, they will grow mold or bacteria, which I just don’t want the stress of.

I feel another type of straw that I would put under bamboo is paper straws. I strongly think that paper straws are a better option to plastic but they are definantly not reusable. They get soggy and unusable fast and can’t be used again.

I don’t recommend paper straws as an everyday life option since youll have to buy new ones very often but for restaurants or when you forget you reusable straw, they’re acceptable

Photo by Sarah Chai on Pexels

(my) WINNER OF THE BATTLE OF SUSTAINABLE STRAWS

METAL STRAWS! — In my opinion, metal straws win the game. I love the experience that comes from drinking cold drinks and how long of a life they have. Of course, you have to be conscious of how you clean them but they won’t crap out on you if you leave them in a drink for a couple days.

You can chuck them in the dish washer, your bag, your car, anywhere. They give you the sleekness and aesthetic vibe you can get from glass but without the fear of them breaking on you.

I personally have the kits from United by Blue that I bought at REI. It is a foldable pouch that comes with a certain amount of metal utensiles (depending on what size you get). The one I bring with me everywhere comes with two metal straws, the brush, metal chopsticks, a spork, and two silicone ends you can add to the straws.

I absolutely love this kit and recommend it to everyone!

United By Blue Utensil Kit. Photo by Nicole Rangel

IN THE END, you can buy as many reusable straws, whatever material you want but it won’t do anything if they are just sitting in your drawer collecting dust. Patricia Acheson, the owner of The Fox Den No Waste Coffee Shop, recommends you have multiple of that item (reusable straws) and have some at home, some in your bag/backpack, and some in your car so you always have them available when you need them!

--

--