Looking for the best photo spots?

Noel Broda
NoFilter App & Blog
3 min readJul 20, 2020

It was September 2016. I was at home, in Argentina, suffering a post-trip-illness called “I FUC**** WANT TO GO BACK!”. That’s where all this has started.

I was probably lying on the sofa, on Instagram, checking some cool photo spots around the world, and suddenly I saw an AWESOME spot that was pretty much similar to Florence, Italy… I looked at it for ~3 seconds, and my chest started to hurt… It was not similar to Florence… IT WAS FLORENCE… Why was it that important? I had been in Florence 2 months ago, and I never saw that place and nobody told me anything about going there.

Let me show you this photo location and then let’s keep talking about this story with happy ending (:danger:)

Isn’t it cool? BTW, thanks Giuseppe Mondì 🇮🇹!

The unacceptable

It is unacceptable to go to Florence and miss this photo location if you are a photographer, a “wanderluster”, or an Instagrammer (I guess I just covered the 98% of human population).

I jumped from the sofa, and as the good developer I am, I thought: “There should be an app for avoid missing the best photo spots while you are traveling”, so I ran to my computer to search about it…

Clearly, I didn’t find anything… So I decided to create my own solution. (poor of me. “It sucks, you gonna love it”).

The necessity

I thought: “It should be easy to create an app to cover this necessity” (haha. 2 years after I’m still on it), so I decided to start working on it.

The big team (2 persons) sat, and started planing. We were sure that we needed an app that you could open every time you are in some new city, in order to answer “where are the cool places to take photos in this city?”.

We decided to create an app and share on it every photo that you would say: “Hey, I want to post this place/thing on Instagram”. Cool buildings, could landscapes, cool streets, beaches, etc.

The solution

After a lot of months of work, we released NoFilter on January 2019.

Long story short:

NoFilter is an app which contains a map where you can see where are the best photo spots nearby (or wherever you want in the world). You can save them in collections and mark them as “visited”, in order to keep a track of already known places.

After some months of research, design, and all those yerbas, this came up:

Yeah, as you may imagine, we called it “NoFilter” (which I hope you like it, because I love it).

Today, July 2020 (cof COVID-19 cof), NoFilter reached 3,000 monthly active users and super happy to say that number is increasing, with no publishing any kind of advertising or marketing. The mouth to mouth magic is working.

What’s next?

Now, NoFilter is trying to do more for the community, and we’ll start sharing some cool articles about traveling, and photography. Guest posts are welcome!

We are also working on adding a lot of new features to NoFilter, and obviously tons of new photo spots.

Go to check the app, and stay tuned in this blog! Cool new things are coming.

PS.: Just comment where are you from, or where are you planning to visit, and I’ll spots in that area so you can enjoy better the app ;)

--

--