I Am Not Etched In Stone

Carol Warady
#NoFilters
Published in
1 min readMar 3, 2018

I am not like a statue, never changing, no matter how glorious a work of art it may be.

Contrary to what one might think, I have not set in my ways.

I am discovering as I age, that I don’t “have to” anything. There is a whole lot of “I want”, and therefore, I do.

I have come to realize that aging doesn’t feel a particular way. I don’t feel 61. I simply feel like me. Most of the time me feels like 16, except I know now what I didn’t know then.

I am not my past and I can lay claim to having a lot of past. My past led me here. My past is the path I took. I used to think I took too many detours. Looking back, I don’t see detours. Just path. My path.

I try to be like water. Water can change shape and form. It flows, like our lives should. I am not etched in stone. I am the water, that slowly over time, cascades over, and drips on the stone, and in the emd, shapes the stone.

--

--

Carol Warady
#NoFilters

Mashup of writer in progress, political junkie,TV lover,animal lover,Charley lover, and the right amount of goofy.Best served w/coffee