Mirror Mirror On The Wall

Carol Warady
#NoFilters
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2018

Mirror mirror on the wall, can you show me who I really am?

On any given day, I can look in the mirror and see myself differently. I have looked in the mirror, most often before I head out to work, and I ask myself “Who is that tired old hag?” Usually followed by “how did I get this old looking so quickly.” And before I walk away in disgust, I silently call bullshit on all the people who have told me I look so much younger than I am.

Same mirror. Different day. I definitely don’t look 61. Thanks, my dear parents, for that bit of good DNA. So glad I stopped smoking 34 years ago.I smile, and wonder if I could wear my hair like I did when I was 16. I put a dab of concealer over the dark circles under my eyes and think, “People would easily believe I’m 10 years younger than I really am. So I put on some lip gloss and walk away ready to conquer the world.

Both are only reflections. Neither of them is reality. The reflections of ourselves that we see are based on perceptions and feelings and our endless ego interpreting all of it. The narrator in our head. The mirror can never tell us who we truly are.

For more great stories follow #NoFilters https://medium.com/nofilters

If you’d like to contribute to #nofilters publication and you’re a woman over 50, I’d love to add your voice.

--

--

Carol Warady
#NoFilters

Mashup of writer in progress, political junkie,TV lover,animal lover,Charley lover, and the right amount of goofy.Best served w/coffee