LET’S GET UP TO SPEED

Richard Simoes
noiselessdata
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2015

Welcome, this is the first post of the site that I’ll be using as a discussion space about the fast moving world of data analysis. I´ll be sharing some useful content and personal projects that will introduce you to the state of the art tools and techniques needed to tackle data problems at today’s scale.

A little bit about myself, as a experienced software engineer I’ve always loved to work with data related tasks, and one year ago I realized the opportunity to grow my skills in this area given the evident need for Data Engineers and Data Scientists in several countries.

Getting everything together was more difficult than I expected, given the noise generated by the current “Big Data” hype (10 years now). My main resources during this process were some really fine books and mostly the web, just recently I attended the Spark Summit in San Francisco where I got a closer look at the industry.

So I know how difficult it can be to focus your attention on the right stuff as you progress through the learning process, and that is the mission of this blog.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Richard Simoes
noiselessdata

Pragmatic computer engineer and data analysis nerd.