Starting a Business

Saneloso
Nomadic Sanel
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2017

After I returned to the US last year I outlined a 5-year plan for myself. This plan consisted of holding a steady job for 5 years, investing heavily in the stock market, saving lots of money and finally leaving the US.

I have come to disagree with that 5-year plan right now. After traveling to Cuba, Mexico and then back to Mexico again recently, I realized how much I really love to travel: the food, the drinks, the people and friends I get to make, the experiences I get to have. Even more than that, it’s the personal growth opportunity. There is nothing like being in unfamiliar situations, stripped away from all your possessions, to truly understand who you are and how you want to grow. It tends to highlight all your strengths and weaknesses.

So, now what? The plan is to slowly work on a small business idea, an online business of some sort, that could generate up to $2,000 in monthly income. By my calculations that should be enough money to pick up and live in most places on this planet. How will I get there and when? I don’t know. I have some thoughts and ideas I am researching and plan to share on this blog. All I know is that I can’t wait five years to make it happen, that isn’t an option. The traveling itch I got from my first go-around can’t be satiated by just idling my life away in San Francisco. At the end of the day, I still love my career, my colleagues and the problems I’m being asked to solve at work, it’s just that life is too short to spend it fulfilling someone else's dreams.

Connect with me

If you enjoyed this article and want to stay on top of my business and personal adventures, please subscribe to my mailing list. You will receive my favorite articles, life & body hacks, videos, products, and odd obsessions.

--

--

Saneloso
Nomadic Sanel

“If you don’t know where you’re going, any road’ll take you there.”