Take Some Time Away From The Screens

Photo by Kevin Wolf on Unsplash

“I’ve always loved the outdoors, and I find a lot of peace and clarity whenever I take the time to soak it in. The crisp air, the warming sun, the herbal scents, the wildlife. I love it.” -Hunter Lorance

I find myself outside again, spurred by an article I read the other day by a writer I started following. I find myself coming back to the page to see if he posted again to read about motivation and the search for peace. His essay on Short. Sweet. Valuable. caught my eye.

Honestly, he could have been reading my stream of consciousness. Yesterday I called a friend to make game night plans for this weekend and I thought to myself, you know what? Why don’t I go outside while calling her? And so I did. There is a short half-mile dirt path that stretches behind the house below a 40-foot Oak canopy. Just as it was when he went outside in his essay, this Winter has been strangely warm, yet oddly Spring-like. With just that little nudge to remember that it’s beautiful outside right now, I chose to do so. As my friend and I were amidst our conversation, suddenly in the near distance, five white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus) were spooked and pranced away. What a beauty to witness.

Take some time away from the screens and enjoy the outdoors.

I will Hunter, I will. Thank you for the encouragement the other day on my daily essay.

Go ahead and check out his work.

I nominate Martin Kessler to write about a writer you enjoy reading on Medium.

--

--

Finding Satori Within Nature
Nomination Curation Station

Hello, I am...finding satori within nature. Enough people have simply walked up to me while I'm out in the wild and asked me if they can read what I'm writing.