I gave the first TALK. My advice: just do it

Anne-Sophie Martin
non-disclosure
Published in
5 min readMar 9, 2023

Even before coming to the GSB, I knew that I wanted to give a TALK — a 25-minute talk to the entire class about one’s most meaningful life events and vulnerable experiences. What I didn’t know was that I would give the first TALK of my graduating class.

Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

I still vividly recall the feelings of nervousness and excitement that I instantly felt. It was early October and I had signed up for TALK, with no expectation that I would be randomly selected to open this long standing tradition only two weeks away. I immediately felt a burst of anxiety. We had only recently begun school and it felt surreal to contemplate that I would soon be sharing my life story with all of my classmates, most of whom did not even know my name. First impressions tend to be lasting and it felt high risk to expose myself in that way so early on. But hidden behind my nervousness and hesitations was a genuine eagerness to tell my story.

On the day of my TALK, many people joined in person, and even more joined via Zoom, including my family who joined from Montreal at midnight Eastern time. I remember looking across the room, which was packed with people. I recognized most faces, but not all. I certainly did not know everyone’s names. Some were becoming friends, but for the most part, we were practically strangers who had barely exchanged more than basic background information.

I talked about my family, especially the women in my life, my relationship with my loving husband, and my experience with anxiety which has shaped me in many positive ways, amongst many things. I had fun, stayed true to myself, introduced my classmates to the important people in my life, and normalized the conversation about mental health, a key objective of mine. For all the nervousness that I experienced before my TALK, I felt calm giving it. I found comfort in knowing that I had total control over how to tell my story. I could decide which experiences I wanted to share or keep for myself and how I wanted to tell them.

At the end of my TALK, I was no longer a total stranger to hundreds of my classmates. Suddenly, people knew a lot more about me than I knew about them. It felt disorienting and intimidating to experience that information asymmetry, but it also felt wonderful to be seen and to unlock the path for deeper friendships. My classmates seemed genuinely interested in getting to know me further and many felt more comfortable being vulnerable around me.

Every quarter, approximately 100–120 people enter the lottery to give a TALK, of which only 20 get assigned a spot. Overall, more than half of our classmates will have entered the lottery in the hopes of getting one of the 110 TALK spots to tell their story. It’s simple math: not everyone who enters the lottery will give a TALK. Considering how defining and memorable the experience is, why wait to apply?

Getting a TALK spot early in my MBA experience certainly had the benefit of giving me visibility with my peers at the beginning of my time at GSB, a foundation on which to build deeper friendships, and the sense that I could confidently be a more “unfiltered” version of myself. Going later means that you are not giving your TALK to strangers, but to friends who already know pieces of your story and what you stand for. In some way, this existing connection can make the emotions even stronger for everyone involved — both the audience and the person giving a TALK — because it feels considerably more personal. The experience gets increasingly powerful as we progress on our MBA journey.

I have also been ruminating on how different the content of my TALK would be if I were to give one today, especially considering how fast everything progresses at the GSB — personal growth, relationships, interests. Giving a TALK is a deeply vulnerable experience for many. Speaking with someone who gave their TALK closer to the end of our first year, they said that it was important for them to “do it at a time when they had strong relationships within the class”. Having formed friendships and knowing that you are supported by classmates can help gain the confidence to open up about your life story.

I also believe that getting a spot later may provide a better reflection of who you’ve become at the GSB. My story was a reflection of my experiences leading up to the GSB, and I know that I’ve evolved since that day in October 2021. Perhaps, I would tell other parts of my story or interpret past events slightly differently if I were to give a TALK today. We continue to change; yet, TALK is a snapshot of the life we’ve lived up to that point.

While there are small differences, the experience of giving a TALK on the first day or the last day of school is similar. It remains an emotional, stressful, and wild experience — only possible because of the love and support from the GSB community. In making myself known, I personally felt supported by friends, TALK coaches, and the GSB community as a whole in ways that I did not anticipate. The day after my TALK, my classmates celebrated me with a cake and heartfelt messages. What I have come to notice time and time again is that GSB students care and are willing to go to great lengths to show you how much you mean to them.

To anyone considering giving a TALK, my advice is to not overthink it, “just do it”. Here are a few tips that I’ve found helpful to help you gather the courage to apply early:

  • Trust that you’ll be supported.
  • Respect your limits. You certainly don’t need to share all details of your life. Tell your story how you feel comfortable telling it.
  • It’s YOUR story. Don’t share what you believe people want to hear. I found comfort in knowing that this experience is ultimately for me.
  • If you get a spot, take it. You may never feel ready and not all of us will have a chance to give a TALK.

As our second year comes to a close, I’m holding on to the few remaining TALKs that we have left as a class. In hearing the stories of my classmates, I continue to be inspired by the diversity of our upbringings, your resilience in face of adversity, and the compassion and care that we give each other along the way.

TALK is an incredible opportunity: don’t miss your chance.

Editor: Teresa Chen

--

--

Anne-Sophie Martin
non-disclosure

Passionate about behavioural health and mental well-being. Writing clears my head. Formerly Stanford MBA, social entrepreneur, and management consultant.