Introverted people make good leaders — it’s time we talk about it

Anne-Sophie Martin
non-disclosure
Published in
5 min readMar 9, 2023

Since starting my MBA, I have had the privilege to hear highly accomplished leaders speak in many of my classes. One of my favorite questions to ask self-identified introverted leaders is how their introversion has served them in their career. Their answer is one that I’m tired of hearing. It’s often about finding a version of extroversion within themselves — learning to play a role — and never about how they have embraced their introversion to achieve their ambitions.

The way that we teach and talk about leadership is problematic: we narrowly define leadership and often represent introversion as a disadvantage. Wielding extroversion leaves behind powerful introverted traits.

Introversion simply means having a preference “for the inner life of the mind over the outer world of other people”. Introversion and extroversion are not binary; most people fall somewhere on the continuum.

This topic of introversion feels particularly personal. As an introverted person, I have often felt inadequate: being the most silent person at countless team dinners while in consulting, having to defend the fact that I only have a handful close friends outside of GSB, feeling like the left-out kid in high school for having lunch alone some days, being evaluated based on my class participation at GSB, being asked to smile more and appear more energetic.

I understand that we all have to tap into introverted and extroverted behaviors at times, based on the situation. However, the thought of having to predominantly play the role of the extrovert to accomplish my career goals feels exhausting. And wrong.

I want to show the value of introverted traits in leadership roles and inspire leaders, professors, and the broader GSB community to do the same.

Photo by Maksym Ostrozhynskyy on Unsplash

The idea that introversion is not equally valued is not new.

In 2012, Susan Cain used the term “Extrovert Ideal” to describe this phenomenon, which she describes in length in her Ted Talk and book Quiet. It’s the idea that, in Western societies, the ideal self is “gregarious, alpha, and comfortable in the spotlight”. As a result, our work and social environments place a lot of value on extroverted behaviors.

It’s why parents get worried if their child has only one or two friends, why teachers reward participation in class, and why our workplaces center around group work. It’s why GSB students feel the need to socialize like never before.

The “Extrovert Ideal” phenomenon also applies to leadership.

A few years ago, while working in management consulting, I proudly told my then manager that I had gotten elected as the global leader of an Employee Resource Group (ERG). His reaction shocked me: he thought that it was ironic that I was an introvert and a leader. It left me wondering how many people shared his perspective. It turns out that he is not the only one.

Indeed, in a poll, 65% of senior executives believe that introversion is a liability for leaders, and only 6% saw introversion as an advantage. Extroverted traits are seen much more positively; people exhibiting those traits are more likely to be placed in positions of leadership and also earn 25% more according to Truity Psychometrics.

That being said, a study led by Adam Grant and his colleagues showed that introverted and extroverted leadership were equally successful. Introverted leaders performed better when their direct reports were proactive while the opposite was true for extroverted leaders. Bill Gates, Tim Cook, Oprah, Mark Zuckerberg, Meryl Streep, Larry Page, Warren Buffet, Barack Obama are all examples of successful introverted leaders. They are more naturally inclined to develop meaningful relationships, reflect deeply, give employees more autonomy, listen to recommendations, and more.

Despite equal performance and countless examples and studies to prove it, society continues to place lesser value on what makes introverted individuals great. What will it take to change that?

Perhaps we need to better understand each other first.

The ERG that I was leading while in consulting was dedicated to promoting diversity along the introversion and extroversion spectrum. Through surveys, events, and conversations, I came to realize that we all hold many misconceptions and stereotypes about introverted and extroverted traits — shy/loud, outgoing/neurotic, intellectual/energetic.

Yet, we are a lot more similar than we are different.

For one, everyone is social. Studies show that “introverts spend about the same amount of time with other people as extroverts, and enjoy it just as much”. The difference is about how we prefer to interact.

Second, introversion is also often associated with shyness, an association that has often left me feeling misunderstood, especially considering the negative connotations that shyness has. Susan Cain, author of “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking”, points out that “shyness is the fear of negative judgment, and introversion is a preference for quiet, minimally stimulating environments.” The distinction is important.

Professors and leaders have a role to play.

The point is not to say that introverted people are better leaders in all circumstances. Or to suggest that introverted leaders achieve better results. My objective is to bring awareness to an imbalance that still persists despite plentiful evidence of it being wrong. Neither introverted or extroverted leaders outperform each other, but it doesn’t always feel this way in business school and in the corporate world.

Professors can debunk this misconception that extroversion is the only way to be an effective leader. Accomplished leaders also hold the responsibility to model more inclusive and diverse styles of leadership.

To all future introverted leaders who will be invited as guests speakers in our classrooms, this is what I hope to hear:

“My introversion has served me many times. I have been able to establish credibility early on because of my thoughtful comments in conversations. My relationships with my colleagues are strong because of our deep conversations in 1–1 settings. I enjoy time with my colleagues over coffee. I reflect on my output and interactions at work with depth and thoughtfulness, which allows me to improve on my gaps. I also process information carefully and can catch details that others might not. At times, I may not behave in extroverted ways, especially when I’m trying to motivate my team in challenging periods or appear enthusiastic in front of my bosses about a solution that I’m genuinely excited about. Generally, I’ve been thoughtful about surrounding myself with personality types that complement me: I work well with individuals who are independent and proactive about their work.”

Note: I try to avoid using the words “introverts” or “extroverts”, preferring instead “introverted” and “extroverted”, because the former suggests a binary outcome whereas the latter suggests a direction. Introversion-extroversion is a spectrum and no person is 100% one or the other. Read “How binary language prevents us from embracing diversity”.

Editor: Teresa Chen

--

--

Anne-Sophie Martin
non-disclosure

Passionate about behavioural health and mental well-being. Writing clears my head. Formerly Stanford MBA, social entrepreneur, and management consultant.