Quarantined in The Compound

Megan Zink
non-disclosure
Published in
5 min readMar 31, 2020

Having won the coveted “Slumber Party at the Compound” in this year’s GSB Gives Back Charity Auction, I could think of no better time than a global pandemic to cash it in. The men of 90 Loyola graciously adopted me for the Bay Area’s Shelter in Place order, saving me from three weeks of social isolation in my own empty passdown. I moved into The Compound on Monday, March 16th. This is my story.

Day 1

We wake up on day one of sheltering in place, and spirits are high. A freshly stocked pantry and fridge have us dreaming of all the meals we’ll be making this week. And our newly acquired Disney Princess Puzzle has us anticipating all the fun activities we can do together.

We begin to lay the foundations of our puzzle. Some residents are more enthusiastic about puzzling than others, and Charlie decides he has better things to do with our limitless time, retreating to his room to connect virtually with his “other friends” over a game of Rory McIlroy PGA Tour.

About halfway through the day, we realize that it is St. Patrick’s Day. In an attempt to celebrate, Charlie designs an innovative adaptation of beer pong for three people, featuring two tables, a lot of switching sides, and some confusing racks. This experience reminds me of an oldest child creating a game and making up his own rules as he goes along… ironically Charlie wins zero games.

We cook our first of what will become nightly family dinners together, everyone helping out in their area of expertise (for Danny, this is dishes).

I get to sit in on the legendary 90 House Meeting, a weekly meeting with an agenda ranging from Love Life Updates to Goals & Bowls (weekly goal setting over bowls of ice cream).

Day 2

The day begins with an epic Zoom “Hot” Pilates class led by Alix Farhat. Some members are more enthusiastic about participating than others, and Charlie just sits on the couch.

Adequate progress on the Disney Princess Puzzle, no thanks to Charlie.

Like most afternoons, this one is spent virtually connecting with those outside of our quarantine bubble — family members, friends who are quarantining solo, and healthcare workers on the front lines are top of mind for us. Taking a step back from the lightness of my quarantine group, I am reminded of the reason we’re doing this in the first place.

After another family dinner, we end the day with a virtual Quiplash session with residents of The Coliseum passdown. I’m surprised by how engaging I find this session, despite not being able to participate from the same physical place.

We begin a new TV show — “The Morning Show”, I am unable to turn down Charlie’s offer of “just one more” nightcap, and Danny falls asleep on the couch.

Day 3

Things are getting blurry. I believe that there has been additional puzzling today… and a Peloton workout video… Did I see the sun today?

All of our wine from our provisions run has magically disappeared. We don’t know what’s happened, and we are sure there is an intruder who is drinking copious amounts of our bourbon.

We attempt to make progress on “The Morning Show”, and Danny falls asleep on the couch again.

Nightcaps continue anyways, and we stay up way too late discussing family, love lives, and our worries and hopes for our last quarter. I’m grateful for this connection in a situation that can feel quite isolating, and surprised by our ability to get deep so quickly. It’s a reminder of the power of connection in life’s scariest moments, and I’m grateful for it in this one.

Day 4

I’m sent out for a provisions (read: wine) run. I realize that I haven’t been alone in days. The lack of Taylor Swift and Top 40 tunes blasting at full volume is eerie. This excursion takes me all day, as I visit three different grocery stores on the hunt for paper towels. I return to The Compound sans paper towels, but with plenty of wine (or so I think).

Danny has taken up permanent residence on the couch and falls asleep again. This time, we attempt to rouse him with smelling salts (a Compound favorite). This attempt is successful.

Day 5

A few of us head to The Dish for some exercise and fresh air. We decide that The Dish is the new Town Square, as we run into seemingly half of the MBA2 class on our walk (from 6 feet away).

Danny and Charlie host a competitive spelling bee via Zoom as part of Team Positivity Contagion. Krey wins on a legendary spelling of Mike Krzyzewski as Kasey devastatingly misspells Jake Gyllenhaal. The fairness of the final round is widely questioned in the Zoom chat, but Krey is crowned the winner.

My new roommates are becoming increasingly comfortable with me, and open discussion of bodily functions is no longer off the table.

Day 6

We complete the puzzle! Again, no thanks to Charlie, who insisted on placing the last piece.

Charlie and I are sent on an excursion to Chavez, the Mexican grocery store down the street. While in Chavez, we are struck by inspiration upon spotting an essential item for the weekend… We buy a piñata, returning to 90 with a paper mache horse filled with hi-chews and jolly ranchers. A small act of defiance against the seemingly ever-present bad news streaming in from the outside… another little thing to find joy in.

Day 7

We start a family band. Musical talents are coming out of the woodwork. Did you know Savage plays piano (& guitar & banjo)!? A family dinner turns into an epic hours-long jam session.

We run out of wine.

Reflections

Living here has been a change, driven both by the unique environment of 90 Loyola and by the unique circumstances that we find ourselves in. What’s going on in the world is scary and overwhelming and isolating, but this little quarantine bubble I’ve found myself in has been a surprising source of positivity and connection that powers me through. I hope that I’ll be able to maintain some of the routines and habits we’ve built during this time: cooking dinner, exercise, spontaneous silliness and presence. A charity prize well worth it.

--

--

Megan Zink
non-disclosure

Second year MBA student & dinner party aficionado