What matters most to you, Kirsten Moss?

Rebecca Janßen
non-disclosure
Published in
9 min readJun 1, 2023
Photo by markito from pixabay

By Florian Dahlhausen & Rebecca Janßen

40,000.

That’s the staggering number of applications that Kirsten Moss will have sifted through by the time she steps down as Assistant Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid at the GSB this summer. If printed and stacked, this mountain of dreams would stand a towering 15 meters tall, eye to eye with most GSB buildings.

A few weeks ago, we hosted a small group dinner with Kirsten. We asked every attending student to re-read their GSB essays. And to our surprise, Kirsten also re-read everyone’s essays, coming prepared with a desire to learn more, innate curiosity and energy ready to cheer us on in our post-GSB dreams.

That evening, we realized that while Kirsten knows so much about our stories, hopes and dreams, we knew very little about her. So, on the occasion of her leaving, we turn the tables and ask Kirsten Moss about the origin of GSB’s magical seven words — “What matters most to you and why?”, her answer to the question and what her next chapter might bring.

The origin of what matters most to you and why

Tell us more about the origin of the question: “What matters most to you, and why?”

This question was here when I first began working at the GSB about two decades ago. Derrick Bolton, who was my predecessor, believes it may have come from a campus series “What Matters to You and Why?”. GSB Admissions then added “most” to the question.

Though I didn’t develop this question, I think it’s brilliant and I would never change it. What defines great leaders has been extensively studied by researchers like Jim Collins in “Good to Great’’, among others, who found that exceptional leaders are very clear about what they value, what they want, and why they are doing what they are doing. What matters most to you is the value that you hold dearest and will motivate you. Your motivations fuel your efforts to create impact.

Given the number of essays you have read, you have a unique view into what matters most to our generation. How did what matters most (to GSB applicants) change over the years?

Interestingly, I think the deep values that have shaped people’s lives have stayed eerily the same over the years. The ways that these values are expressed in the context of an individual’s story, however, have evolved. For instance, we are seeing many more applicants write about their efforts to stop global warming. The values which lie underneath their efforts may include sustainability, equality, or even health and wellness, and yet they are expressed in a motivation to tackle one of the world’s most pressing challenges.

Beyond the Admissions role

You got to know a lot about every (prospective) GSB student through their application. But many of us don’t know much about you. In the popular GSB class Winning Writing, lecturer Glenn Kramon asks his students to describe themselves in only six words. Who are you in six words?

“Fire starter, sparking possibilities and growth.”

What I hope to do in life is spark new fires within others. When I meet someone, my mind immediately goes to “Wow! Look at this potential. There is so much they could accomplish given their talents and dreams.” Maybe it’s because I have seen so many examples in my career of how people have done incredible things that I can spot what might be possible for them. So much of empowering others is helping someone believe they are capable and envision new paths.

Tell us more about your journey to becoming that person.

I could talk about my professional journey, including starting my career as an Investment Banker, doing my MBA at Harvard and leading admissions there, getting a PhD in Psychology and being a Touchy Feely Facilitator. But there are many other things that have formed me at least as much that you can’t google that easily.

I was the last of five girls, born to a British mother, who grew up in Liverpool during WWII. Even though we struggled at times to make ends meet, my mom, who lived through bombings and food shortages, taught me to be grateful for the abundance we had and how to persevere through any challenge.

Another formative experience was skipping two grades of school in elementary and middle school. Unfortunately, this meant I entered high school as a 12 year old. It’s not surprising that I struggled to find someone to sit with at lunch! I think feeling excluded increased my motivation to understand how you can forge deep connections with others and how you can make those around you feel appreciated and included.

A final life theme for me would be my commitment to family. I have been married to my husband for 27 years and have three children whom I treasure. In my career, I have intentionally made career decisions and weighed trade-offs against each other to ensure I was available and present during their childhood. I moved between full and part time work depending on our family’s needs. One of the reasons I stayed in higher education was it has enabled me to have some independence over my time and schedule. My wish to empower others is perhaps most purely expressed in the family I have created with my husband.

Take us back to who you were in our shoes, during your MBA at Harvard. How would your younger self describe what matters most to you then and why?

If I had written an essay on this, I likely would have spoken about the critical values that have shaped me — hope, courage, and connection. And I would have written about my ambition to be a leader who could create a culture; one in which individuals would be inspired by their work and proud of the impact they could make together. What’s interesting to me now is that while I was not focused on talent assessment or development at that time (as I was headed off to an Assistant to the CEO role at a large Entertainment company), empowering others still was a central theme of what mattered to me.

What matters most to you today, and why? What has changed since then?

I think what has changed has been letting go of what I thought I was “supposed to be”, to embrace what I found most meaningful. I thought I was supposed to become some kind of case protagonist at some kind of company that would “do good” in the world. Honestly, I interviewed with twenty companies in many different industries my second year of the MBA program. I was trying to find that perfect “industry or product” fit with my interests. I never did find one.

It was not until a professor several years later suggested working back at HBS that I was led to my current path. Once I thought about leading a team in education, the “product” finally aligned with what mattered most to me — empowering others to reach their potential. It’s about helping individuals understand what is most meaningful to them, assess their leadership capabilities, and develop new leadership behaviors to accelerate their growth.

Connecting past and future

Looking back at your time at GSB, what are your fondest moments and what are you most proud of?

Over the last six years, I have welcomed over two thousand students and reviewed over 40,000 applications with the admissions team. The numbers themselves don’t capture what has been most memorable and for which I am most grateful — the opportunity to read about the journeys and dreams of our students from the Classes of 2020–2025. By far my favorite part of the job was uncovering the potential in each of them.

Beyond that, the first thing that comes to mind is the Admissions and Financial Aid team and the culture we have built together, around commitment to the candidates we serve, and leading with integrity and kindness. We also spend a great deal of time laughing — even on challenging days.

I also am proud of the work we have done to increase the diversity of applicants who apply across many dimensions, working with almost 100 student Admissions Ambassadors , and to build a new financial aid methodology, process, and portal — built with input from students, faculty alumni, and staff.

How do you envision your life after this chapter as assistant Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid? What are you hoping for in your next chapter in life? What is next for you?

My last day in admissions is in just a few weeks. This summer and fall, I am excited to take some time off without any professional commitments. For the first time, I am confident enough to embrace the unknown and give myself some time and space. My “true north” is clear though. I remain committed to empowering others through improving how we assess and develop talent but want to do this at an even greater scope and scale in the next part of my career. How I make progress toward this goal could take many forms.

One opportunity about which I am particularly excited is to teach an experiential class next year I am currently calling, “Assessing Leadership Potential: in Yourself and in Those You Hire”. After evaluating thousands of individuals and developing selection processes for universities and for corporations, I have a strong point of view on best practices and tools. The course will begin with assessing, and perhaps more importantly, appreciating your own unique leadership profile and potential. Then, we will explore how to apply these assessment tools to evaluate others whom you may hire, mentor, coach, or develop. I hope this type of course could help students professionally and personally as they continue to take on more significant leadership challenges.

If asked to deliver a last lecture for the class of 2023, what would you want to share with this (and future) graduating classes?

In my welcome speech on your first day at Stanford, I told you to be human, not superhuman. You only get one chance to go through this life as YOU. Your story matters — that is why we selected you. Don’t be afraid to share your journey and all the challenges that have forged you. Don’t let your worries about what others think or your fear of failure constrain your vibrance. The more you value yourself, the more others will be attracted to you, and yes, want to want to follow you. It’s that simple.

Pay close attention to what work is meaningful to you. How can you wake up every day and work on challenges that you care about? When I have spoken to some of you about your future, I wait and watch for the moment your eyes light up. Sometimes this moment is buried amidst a long list of things you think you should explore or do. Wait for it. Bam! Start with that moment that you find excitement and dive into asking why your energy has peaked. The more you align with that energy, the greater the impact you will have.

Feel your feelings. Share your feelings. Tell others how they make you feel. You will make those around you feel safe and engaged. You will rapidly accelerate lasting connections when you lead with your heart and your head. It costs so little and the rewards will pay dividends long after.

Lastly, know I will always be on your team. If you ever need someone to remind you of your value and potential, just reach out. The world needs your leadership, and nothing can stop you if you believe that you are enough. And I, for one, do.

Final remarks

Kirsten, as you leave your role at GSB, we want to thank you for believing in each and every one of us, for your inspiration and for being a true fire starter for so many. You’ve shown us once again how powerful following our deep, intrinsic motivation can be and the magic that unfolds when we dare to dream.

We hope this interview serves as an inspiration and a reminder to all of us. A reminder that it is always worth it to ask ourselves these magic seven words — “What matters most to you, and why?” — again and again in life.

Editors: Anne-Sophie Martin & Kha-ai Nguyen-Wilk

--

--