Birthday with Baba Nostalgia

“Mommy, I miss Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur and Friday Bazaar near the Jamie Mosque,” said my son in a tone full of longing.

My cute baby 😘

I turned to him, yes his face looked like he was upset.

“There it is different for me, for some reason I like the people, the food, and the environment!” Added my son.

“Mommy, don’t you miss it?” he asked while bribing the Kunafa (Special Middle East sweet) I bought at a shopping center in Jakarta City.

The owner said, here is branch from Bukit Bintang Malaysia and his uncle.

I smiled for a moment.

And, my mind goes to few years back, where I had just reached the period of the growth of all feelings of desire.

I had just returned from a trip from a country that required me to transit at KLIA (International Airport in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia).

I walked towards the airline ticket sales section with a distinctive bright red color.

Suddenly a man with an Asian appearance greeted me in English, “Hey, where are you coming from?”

I answered briefly using English too. “I came from Nepal for visit tour after my business trips.”

“Wow, apparently we were on the same plane, weren’t we?” Said the man whose name I didn’t know.

I didn’t answer anything, than smiling.

Then I immediately continued buying airline tickets.

“It’s quite expensive, isn’t it, Sis,” he said while still following me.

“Yes, yes, Brother. But what can I do, there’s no choice! If there’s cheaper one but we should stay here first!” I answered and continued walking to the corridor near the escalator where there were food courts.

That men is still following me, I don’t know why.

I put my things in a corner and immediately looked at the food menu.

“Sis, try eating this complete nasi lemak (Rice cooked with coconut milk)!” He said while giving me a plate full of nasi lemak. (A piece of chicken thigh, fried small anchovies, and a sprinkling of peanuts and chili sauce plus a few slices of cucumber).

I, who was hungry, immediately ate the nasi lemak accompanied by a men whose name I didn’t even know.

After eating, the men and I chatted. And finally, I found out that he was Indonesian, from Bandung. He worked as an architect at a local company in Nepal.

When the flight time arrived, I got up from my seat and wanted to pay for the food I ate.

Coincidentally at that time I only brought American dollars. There I started to get confused because they didn’t accept any currency other than Malaysian Ringgit. Yes, because the nominal fraction is much larger than what must be paid.

“Miss, you can go to change your money to money changer first,” said the cashier.

I was about to take a step, and the man said, “Sist, let me pay…”

I saw the price was 6.50 ringgit along with the drink.

I inconveniently look to his face as saying thank you.

Now I’m sitting on this bright red plane.

Just sitting down, there was that same men in front of me. “Brother?” I greeted him spontaneously.

He smiled as he answered, “Maybe this is a sign that we should be together…”

I replied with a dry laugh, “Maybe yes or maybe not…”

In the end, we sat next to each other — that was because the seats were listed on the ticket and it was just a coincidence.

Because the journey from Kuala Lumpur to Bandung was not long, we decided not to sleep. We just enjoyed the hot coffee we bought on the plane while telling stories about our journey and having to go to Nepal.

Finally, after traveling for almost three hours in the air, the plane landed safely in Bandung City.

After passing immigration control, I left the airport and the man was still behind me. Whether intentionally or accidentally, the man was always there even though I didn’t intend to be followed.

“Sist, if you go to your home, just take that car!” Said the man while showing a minibus. Yes, he knows my city because I told him on the plane.

“Ah, yes, Brother…” I answered as I stopped in my tracks.

“It’s almost sunset, I’m afraid you’ll be late!” He added as if he was worried about me.

I just nodded and immediately got into the minibus.

For a moment I turned to the man, he waved his hand and was still standing watching the minibus I was riding.

Brother, thank you for the treat. I pray that you and your family will always be protected by Allah. I’m sorry I didn’t have time to ask for your name, we were just talking about work, even though at that time you showed me your professional identification card. I’m sorry, I’m too tired and want to fall asleep immediately.

Thank God, I always meet people who are kind and care about my safety.

Well, this is where I first set foot in Malaysia. Even here I have fallen in love with the food, though in my country there is something similar. But, I don’t know, it’s very different in my opinion.

Fall in love at first sight. But sure not just sightseeing, this happens because we already know the characteristics of civilization from all its strengths and weaknesses. What’s more, the taste of unique of Teh Tarik, and I have fallen in love with the Milo as well as the chocolates. Ah, I’m so exaggerating. Whatever it is, I have fallen in love. And, it’s not just temporary or at first sight.

“Mommy, when I eat kunafa, I remember Baba. I hope Baba’s problem will be resolved soon. I miss you, Baba.” My son said while eating pistachio kunafa.

That’s make my mind back to current reality. Suddenly my eyes stare on him and I watched and listened to his chatter which didn’t stop until the last bite.

Yes, my son loves his Baba more than anyone else in this world. He knew his Baba was the best person he knew after he was born into the world.

“When I’m with Baba, my wishes are obeyed, I go for walks to the beach, go to the park, and even eat MCD at night and much more!” added my son who seemed to be nostalgic.

“That’s it, it’s so dramatic,” I answered, teary-eyed.

My son glanced at me as he spoke again, “If Baba’s problem is solved, Mommy won’t have to go to work either! You can focus on books and a little work!”

I was stunned for a moment when I heard the words of my son, who had a very mature way of thinking.

I was silent for a moment.

Monday 19 February, after school.

“Yes, Barokallah fi umrik, all the best prayers for you!” I said while handing him a plate of my son’s favorite Chicken Mandi Rice.

Chicken Mandi Rice II two chili's are symbol of number 11 as my son turning eleven years old today. As we are no longer blowing a candlestick so that's the replacement ❤️

My son smiled and immediately took the plate and brought it to the dining table.

Surprise, after school 🎒

“Ah, Mommy, I remember Baba again. Baba, who likes to cook like this, his cooking is delicious. But he takes a long time to cook!” Said my son.

I smiled, remembering that time, I couldn’t wait and cooked indomie so that my stomach could last until Baba’s cooking was finished. Baba is serious when cooking, everything has to be perfectly arranged. And, that makes the cooking process take a long time.

My son start eat the Mandi Rice I made, “Mommy, your cooking is delicious too!” He said with a smile.

I was touched and smiled while wiping my tears. Ah!

After eating, my son started speaking again, “I must have to go to school quickly, then go to college, then go to work, saving money. After that we will move to Malaysia!”

I answered curtly, “You have to invest at least 10 billion to live there!”

“Work smart and pray, if Allah says yes, it will happen. And, even if it doesn’t, Allah will have other plans.” Said my son, who knows now that mature words are emerging. Even though every day he should say silly things.

I nodded in agreement.

Notes:

Dear Baba,

Today, I with your beloved son always pray for you to finish your problem soon. May Allah help you and He blessed you always. Aamiin ❤️

--

--

𝕻𝖚𝖙𝖗𝖎𝖆𝖓𝖆 𝕸𝖚𝖋𝖎𝖉𝖆𝖍✍
Non Fiction

𝓝𝓸𝓽𝓱𝓲𝓷𝓰 𝓫𝓾𝓽 𝓽𝓱𝓮𝓻𝓮 𝓲𝓼 𝓼𝓸𝓶𝓮𝓽𝓱𝓲𝓷𝓰 ☺️