Photo by Tyrell James on Unsplash

An Over and Under of Autism Expression

Jim Irion
Non-Monetized Together #svalien
3 min readMay 1, 2023

--

As I continue to lead a call-to-action movement for re-evaluating all autism care, I want to keep sharing my experiences with autism traits. Self-expression is influenced in a number of ways by autism behavior. Some autistic people experience what is known as being under-expressive with their communication skills. To non-autistic people, we may seem distant and appear unable to express our feelings with fluent words or expressions.

This can lead to double empathy, or a mismatch in understanding one another through two different communication styles. Being under-expressive is not a negative thing, and communication can be adapted over time without masking our true neurodivergent selves. Use the communication style that you are most comfortable with. On the other hand, some of us are the opposite. We are over-expressive.

If you ever played the card game Uno as a kid, you will relate to this. I could never keep a straight face. Nine times out of ten, if I am thinking of an emotion, you will see me express it in some form or another. That is why I avoid gambling (I also value the money I have). I have a lousy poker face because I do not understand how to be expressively dishonest to bluff having a better hand of cards.

So, if I have lousy cards, my face looks like a flat tire. It might not even be an expression commonly familiar to people. Sometimes I make up my own faces. The very best example I can give was one of my greatest mentors for self-expression when I was a kid. He is none other than the master of slapstick, the cartoon character Bugs Bunny. Maybe it was just the way his silly, sarcastic humor was scripted by his creators. I idolized good ‘ole Bugsy.

In fact, I often describe my self-expression as cartoonish, but not in a self-depreciating way. More like proud, if I am being honest. Take, for example, one of my favorite Looney Tunes cartoons, “Bedevilled Rabbit.” At 5:32 into the episode, Bugs makes a facial expression that I have often emulated. It defies description because it is not a common expression a person would use.

The expression personifies neurodivergent behavior because we respond to our environment differently at a subconscious level. In another cartoon, “Falling Hare”, Bugs can be seen petrified after nearly going out of an airplane door while at altitude. His expression is another priceless example of what I grew up idolizing and using. Over-expressive. My second favorite cartoon character taught me the value of using only your eyes: Wile E. Coyote.

Each and every single time I saw an old Coyote and Roadrunner cartoon, I was astounded by the expressions Coyote made without saying anything. That is because his cartoons were intentionally scripted to be humorous by using no dialogue except “meep, meep” and occasional yelping in pain. I have often wondered if this was the origin of the modern side-eye expression. In any case, I seemed to love this aspect of Coyote cartoons to the point that I began to value it in other cartoons as well.

For example, the character Daffy Duck is also well known for his nonverbal expressionism. Though, he does tend to have a certain sassiness about him compared to other characters. It is no wonder I emulated such cartoonish self-expression. It just seemed to draw out the neurodivergent in me. Or, rather, as people sometimes call me, just plain old silly.

I am proud because I live for making people laugh so hard they forget their daily woes. That is when I am not masking the humor I share, like on Twitter. No matter how many times people tell you to be yourself, there is always someone who will be offended and unfollow you for being yourself when sharing a shameless toilet humor joke. Then I am utterly confused.

#LetThatThinkIn

Welcome to the next Autism Experience.
How Late Is Too Late?

--

--

Jim Irion
Non-Monetized Together #svalien

I am an autistic advocate, writer and presenter. My writing is primary source research material. "A leader leads. They don't walk away when someone needs help."