First Newsletter

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readAug 3, 2024

Nonmonetized Together is closing, which means that the content in this article no longer applies.

Starting today (August 3, 2024), all new updates and announcements concerning Nonmonetized Together will be shared in a newsletter. Before now, there was no easy way for users to stay on top of Nonmonetized Together. They would have to either keep revisiting the “about our blog” article or receive a correction from me by writing a comment that demonstrates incomplete knowledge of Nonmonetized Together. The newsletter solves these problems and helps keep users up-to-date on this constantly evolving online environment. However, any updates from earlier than August 3, 2024 will not be shared in the newsletter.

I fixed up a problem with Nonmonetized Together’s “send an anonymous comment” feature. This feature is designed for people who are made too scared or uncomfortable by a Nonmonetized Together user to respond to them. Originally, I said that you can send your comment to me by private link so I could share it to the user on your behalf without revealing your name. Today, I added a clarification to the “about our blog” page stating that, due to the character limit in private notes, you might have to write your comment as an unlisted article and then share the link as a private note.

Also today, I found out that Medium publication editors don’t receive notifications for every comment in their publication. I already suspected that this might be the case, but I had it confirmed today. I can manually look at Nonmonetized Together articles to see if there are any new comments added, but this will be more difficult and more infrequent as more discussions keep being added on Nonmonetized Together. I have not yet came up with a solution for this problem. If you have any suggestions for dealing with this, let me know.

--

--

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien

Trying to see power relations, not get caught up in the hivemind, empathize with the unloved, and get along with Internet strangers