How I Get Closer To God

You can also read this at https://write.as/non-monetized-together/how-i-get-closer-to-god

This list I will be writing here is anecdotal so it’s not your responsibility to give these a try. I’m just saying that these have worked for me and that you’re encouraged to share how you feel about them.

Improvising my prayers has allowed me to share my feelings honestly and directly to God. It has also got me more engaged in my prayers.

I’ll question some aspects of Catholicism because even though some of them don’t seem to make sense at first, I will eventually see their value if I stay patient and faithful that I’ll find the answer. This will allow me to get a fuller and deeper understanding of Catholicism.

I’ll view politics as inferior to religion. I should mention I’m aware that political action is a necessity for people who suffer from the current system, so it shouldn’t go away completely. It just shouldn’t be replacing religion like it is now. Politics comes from a narrow perspective, usually one’s own, and aims at achieving power and domination. Instead of coming from one perspective, Catholicism comes from the perspective of thousands of theologians working together to figure out what God’s telling them. And unlike politics, the Catholic Church aims to provide personal fulfillment instead of power. This is not how it appears to people who are not of faith, but if you are motivated to follow God, it won’t feel like you’re dominated by an institution at all. It will feel more like the Church is helping you focus on what matters.

I also don’t dress up for church. Seriously, what’s up with that? I don’t think God cares about how we look on the outside. It should be enough that you are going to Church to learn more about Him and express remorse for your sins.

And that’s my list. I don’t really have anything to conclude it with, so I’ll just leave it there.

This comment section has been locked because the article was published at least three months ago. If you want to restore comments on this article, send me a message here.

--

--

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien

Trying to see power relations, not get caught up in the hivemind, empathize with the unloved, and get along with Internet strangers