On My Write.as Page, You Can Read My Posts Without Dealing With Ads or Paywalls

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien
2 min readJan 27, 2023

I’m just making an announcement to everybody that I set up an account on write.as and will soon be cross-posting my articles on the platform.

I will still post all of my articles on Medium but you will also be able to see some of them on write.as. Some of them may not be posted to write.as if I feel there is a good reason not to.

So you might be asking, what is write.as? It is a long-form blogging platform like Medium but it has a few differences. Write.as has no ads, doesn’t collect your data, and doesn’t have personalized algorithms. It aims to be a simple network for bloggers to share what they want.

In contrast to the current situation we have where web links are dying left and right, write.as also promises to let the writer preserve their blog on the site as long as they wish, as long as it doesn’t break the community guidelines.

Write.as is part of the Fediverse, a vast group of small social media websites that can communicate with each other. The Fediverse is decentralized; most of these sites are run by different people. This runs counter to mainstream sites like Instagram and TikTok, which are run completely by their company and do not cross-pollinate with other sites.

You can find the new Non-Monetized Together write.as blog on write.as/non-monetized-together (it’s empty as I am writing this, but it may not be by the time you click on the link).

You can learn more about write.as at:

write.as/about

howto.write.as

You can see people’s blog posts on read.write.as.

See remark.as to find how to respond to write.as posts.

The only downside write.as has to Medium is that you need to be a paying subscriber to comment on posts. To deal with this issue, I have not only been saving the publication’s Medium articles to write.as, but its comments too, and vice versa. If you posted any comments onto Non-Monetized Together’s Medium that you do not want saved to write.as, send me a private note or a public comment (your choice) and they will be taken down. The same applies for if you posted any comments onto Non-Monetized Together’s write.as that you do not want saved to Medium (you can PM my write.as by messaging me on discuss.write.as).

--

--

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien

Trying to see power relations, not get caught up in the hivemind, empathize with the unloved, and get along with Internet strangers