Newsletter from August 4, 2024

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readAug 4, 2024

Nonmonetized Together is closing, which means that the content in this article no longer applies.

I think I came up with a solution to the problem I discussed in the previous newsletter.

First, here is what the problem was:

“I found out that Medium publication editors don’t receive notifications for every comment in their publication. I already suspected that this might be the case, but I had it confirmed [yesterday]. I can manually look at Nonmonetized Together articles to see if there are any new comments added, but this will be more difficult and more infrequent as more discussions keep being added on Nonmonetized Together.”

Here’s my solution:

After an article has been made available for three months, I look through the article’s comment section to see if there were any comments I missed. Then, I lock the comment section. Then, I add a notice to the article telling people that the comment section has been locked because it’s been three months since the article was published. The notice would also say, “if you want to reactivate the comments section for another three months, add a comment to the article in this link.” The link would lead to a Medium comments section dedicated to letting people reactivate other Nonmonetized Together comments sections.

I don’t have this set up yet. It will take a long time to get set up. Let me know what you think of the idea. This is a community-run publication, after all.

Also, I just uploaded a new “proof I’m not part of the Medium Partner Program” video.

--

--

Kevin the Nonmonetized
Non-Monetized Together #svalien

Trying to see power relations, not get caught up in the hivemind, empathize with the unloved, and get along with Internet strangers