Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

The Day the Cops Were Called, Part 1

Jim Irion
Non-Monetized Together #svalien
3 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Before I begin, I have to limit the details on this incident because the risk of legal retaliation still exists. This may make some of the information a bit vague. The topics I am going to discuss are not normally this confrontational. However, one instance of asking for accommodations changed my life, making both oversharing and missing social cues priorities for autism safety.

As a result of events that took place after this incident, I was taken advantage of several times too. I cannot recall everything because I did not know I needed to remember it. With this article, I am going to explain in greater detail what happened and follow up in a second part for discussion. In late February 2020, I went to a ‘facility’ to seek publishing and research opportunities at another location they are affiliated with. I used to have direct involvement here.

My ‘information’ is on file for certain professional reasons. Therefore, I also know the building quite well. When I entered the two sets of glass doors, I already knew it was best not to walk around. So, I felt it was both professional and wise to wait in the foyer just past the entrance. After a moment, a woman greeted me, whom I had never seen before while I was there.

We exchanged pleasantries because, on my part, I had a connection to the building and felt comfortable despite the passage of time. I asked to meet with the site director to ask for accommodations that I felt I needed because of my mental health. I expected my prior long-term involvement with them to make the in-person scheduling smooth. Unfortunately, this woman told me that the director was out of town for an important business meeting.

The woman, whom I believed was a secretary, invited me into her front office. Once there, we engaged in cordial conversation. I was very adamant about sharing my mental health volunteer work from the previous three years as well as my published writing. This was what I was there to explore. From October 2018 to January 2020, just under two years, I had a total of five articles published.

My crowning achievement, at the time, was my fifth article, entitled “Why I No Longer Refer to My Attempt as Weak.” It was my very own official suicide survival story that represented no minor feat. Suicide was a major influence on my life. I shared this new publication without a moment’s hesitation. I was proud. The conversation lasted no more than fifteen minutes when the woman asked me for something rather unexpected.

She asked to photocopy my driver’s license despite the fact that my information was still in their system. I accepted her request without giving it much thought. It seemed odd, but she must have had a proper reason. Right? We concluded without my scheduling any meetings, and I went home. After supper, my world started turning upside down. I lived with my parents. They got a call from ‘a branch’ of law enforcement connected to the facility.

The look on my face was as shocked as my parents were. When I answered, in the officer’s own words, I had “spooked the attendant I spoke with” that day. I was beside myself with equal parts panic and confusion. What did I do? She never seemed uncomfortable. What happened in the next two years destroyed my reputation and taught me painful lessons about oversharing and social cues.

#LetThatThinkIn

Welcome to the next Autism Experience.
The Day the Cops Were Called, Part 2.

--

--

Jim Irion
Non-Monetized Together #svalien

I am an autistic advocate, writer and presenter. My writing is primary source research material. "A leader leads. They don't walk away when someone needs help."