Book Review #15 for 2019: The Subtle Art of Not giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

Mike Scott
Nona Digital
Published in
1 min readJul 25, 2019

There has been a lot of hype about this book and I was actually quite resistant to reading it. I can say that I was really not expecting what I read and I mean this in the best possible way.

From what I can see, Manson has taken teachings from the likes of Eckhart Tolle and masterfully brought them into the modern vernacular and I think this is hugely valuable.

The author explores challenges, thoughts and feelings that I think we all face and offers wisdom and tools to work through these in a very practical way.

My take home message is this:

The act of trying to change a negative situation to a positive one is, in and of itself a negative experience. BUT, accepting a negative experience as it is, is in and of itself a positive experience.

This message is deeply transformative and taught in many spiritual and self help books but Manson brings it right into the everyday world and with everyday language.

I strongly recommend this book for pretty much anyone that wants to lead a better life with more self acceptance and awareness.

--

--

Mike Scott
Nona Digital

Co-founder and CEO of NONA | Dad & Husband | Business Coach | Entrepreneur | Writer | Cyclist | Runner | Habit optimiser.