NonTechTech in conversation with Myriam Ouedraogo

Myriam O.
3 min readSep 28, 2018

--

Photo by Suganth 🇮🇳🇸🇬 on Unsplash

Tell us a little bit about yourself, where you’re from, where you live and what your interests are.

Well, my name is Myriam, I am 26. I come from a small country in West Africa called Ivory Coast (it is one of the most dynamic countries in this area). I have been living in Paris for the past 3 years and I am passionate about science, engineering, technology, travel and business.

How did you end up working in technology?

After finishing my master degrees in management and in international business, I felt like something was missing from my education. Since I did not know what to do with my life, I decided to take another year at school to learn about tech, and I ended up working for a startup based in Paris.

What is a typical day in your job / life like?

What I do on a typical day is to wake up before 5am to pray and work on my projects, then go to work, meet with potential partners and take care of all communication aspects of the startup for which I work and more, then go home, read a book and work on my projects.

What do you like most about your role?

I do way more than just my role. So I’d say that whay I like most is being able to do the thing no one thought I could do and having intense creative moments

What are the skills and experiences that are needed to succeed in your field?

A lot of creativity and flexibility, the ability to quickly solve problems and to understand very technical points.

What excites you about technology, and what worries you about technology?

What excites me about technology is that you can do almost everything with it and always find new applications to solve pressing problems. What worries me about technology is not the technology in itself but the fact that men are perverting its use to raise themselves above God. I believe technology is only good or bad depending on who is using it.

How would you describe your company culture?

I would say that it is very familial and caring.

What would you say to someone reading this article, who is interested in working in tech but doesn’t feel that they are ‘techie’ enough?

I would say that their is probably no such this as being ‘techie’, I mean if you love technology, go for it. You have something that a company somewhere need. And you can always learn any new skills you want

Is there anything else you’d like to share / tell us, maybe something you’re working on?

I am working on a podcast to share my entrepreneurial journey, which means that I am also starting my “side hustle” and I am going to talk about the journey alongside interviews in french and english

Finally, where can we find you online?

You can find me on instagram @my__mii , on twitter @myriamyasmine and on product hunt @myriam_oued

--

--