Nonverbal Communication in the Classroom

Brooke Newton
Nonverbal Communication- Group 6
1 min readMar 29, 2017

For most of us, we have sat through a class where the professor (and student) seems like all they want to do is lecture and leave judging by their body language. While reading an article titled, Verbal and Nonverbal Communication in the Classroom, I have learned that body language is important to think about from both sides of the spectrum. A professor having their arms crossed while discussing something in class can make many people feel that they are less approachable. If students feel this way, they are less inclined to ask questions if they didn’t understand something which is a problem. However, the same goes for students. When a teacher is in front of the class lecturing, they can see which students are making an effort to learn, and which aren’t. I know that I am guilty of using either my phone or laptop in class, which I’m sure makes it look like I’m not listening. This article was interesting to me because while we might not intentionally mean for others to perceive us in a way, it happens all the time. By making sure your body language is less closed off, it is more likely that others will feel comfortable engaging.

--

--