4 steps to become fluent in a language

Kathryn Crea Roberts
Noosfeer Stories
Published in
4 min readMay 10, 2015

--

Step 2: Exposure

Developing vocabulary and grasping grammar rules is an important step in learning a new language, for some tips have a look at Step 1: Online learning.

An integral part of learning a new language is being able to communicate. As a teacher for a number of years something I frequently witnessed was a fear of speaking.

It is tough and scary but it’s OK. It’s OK to make mistakes, wrongly conjugate verbs and have poor pronoucniation.

The key to improvement is practise, but how?

Language exchanges

For those of you who do not have plans to travel, don’t despair, there’s still lots of opportunity for practising!

Here are a few sites that I would recommend:

Meetup groups: From hiking to music to language groups, there is something for everyone. The language groups meet regularly, all levels are welcome and you can practise all that you have learnt in a free relaxed environment.

Conversation exchange: a free website that puts language learners in contact. My Spanish has greatly improved since meeting Diana, a Colombian, who is also living in Paris. Chatting in both English and Spanish, the hours pass quickly as my vocabulary comes on in leaps and bounds.

Couchsurfing: a free multicultural travelling website full of openminded people. Most cities have regular meet ups and many language groups, for both natives (missing their mother tongue) and locals (wanting to put into practise what they have learnt.) You’ll be overwhelmed by the great people you meet and will quickly see your language knowledge develop (without even having to leave your home city!)

Everyone there is in the same position. No-one will judge or criticise your errors, your fellow language learners are there to help and encourage you. Enjoy how quickly you can improve in this environment.

As your confidence grows, your inhibitions will dissolve and speaking becomes enjoyable.

Work abroad

Not always a viable option but whenever you get the chance jump for it.

It is incredibly effective and doesn’t hurt the bank balance. My French went from mediocre to fluent within weeks whilst waitressing.

I started working in a restaurant in France on a Saturday night … it was chaos. Screaming chefs, angry clients and a panicked English girl. It was literally sink or swim. Working over a 40 hour week with French colleagues in a fast paced environment was the perfect opportunity to learn.

Thanks to globalisation, there are international companies everywhere. The internet has exploded and with it hundreds of new jobs. It gives you a perfect chance to submerge yourself into a new language.

Meet my best friend Beth, an English teacher, fluent in 3 languages, currently working on her Portugese.

“Whilst looking after 4 children (aged 10 months to 8 years) as an au-pair in France, I quickly learnt I couldn’t just respond “oui, oui” when I didn’t understand the childrens’ questions. (For all I know they could’ve been asking to swim in the Seine!)

I learnt fast, seeing what was right and wrong, based on the reactions of my 4 mini French judges.

6 years later and living in Lisbon, I still love languages. When locals see that I’m foreign, they automatically speak to me in English. My persistence has had to be strong in my desire to learn the language, having Portugese flatmates and friends has made such a difference. Next stop Brazil.”

Fluent in 4 languages & conversational in 2 more, Fernanda, my favourite Mexican in London, is my language inspiration

“I truly believe that once you learn a language from scratch as an adult, it becomes easier to learn more.

Today, as a full time professional but still passionate about languages, my new challange is German. Exposure for now is not an option, so my challenge is to make time to study and practice. Living in London is great, such a multicultural city makes finding German speakers very easy.

Exposure is the key when learning a new language. Travel and live abroad as much as possible. Make international friends and use your free time. Good luck!”

Broaden your horizons today, make your learning fun.

Exposure: Done!

Next :

Step 3: read, listen and watch.

The list above is by no means exhaustive. If you have had particular success shoot us an email at yourfriends@noosfeer.com.

Noosfeer: dedicated to your learning, helping you achieve your dreams.

--

--