Imagine a world where people took the time to read

Kathryn Crea Roberts
Noosfeer Stories
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2014

--

Reading enlightens us, for some it comes early and for others it develops over the years. I, myself, was the child hiding under the bed covers with a torch and a beloved book, privileged to grow up as a teenager in the world of Harry Potter. This passion for reading started with a simple book and over the years has evolved into a much loved past time.

If we removed all books, newspapers, websites, magazines, blogs, all traces of the written word what would the world look like? Would there be a difference?

A world without the written word is a bizarre thought and truly the consequences would be disastrous. Removing the works of the greatest literature of all time, the scientific discoveries of the past, the developments for the future, the list could go on but what it serves to demonstrate is how our world today is the product of our past, and essentially, without wanting to sound too dramatic, removing reading would ultimately destroy our future.

We may like to believe that the world is indestructible but a world without reading is a one track road to destruction. Yes technology is increasing and reading is deteriorating but we must treasure the words that surround us as they not only allow us, but positively encourage, us to engage, develop and prosper. Reading puts the eye of the beholder in a place of power, it removes ignorance, celebrates passion evoking the knowledge hungry learner. Those that read will help our world become a better place. Just for a moment close down every part of your life, stop loading the washing machine, stop watching trashy TV, stop flicking once again through your Facebook feed … and read that article that you have been forever promising to read, pick up the book you have been meaning to start, finish the last few pages of that article.

On a personal level, reading has taught me a foreign language, drove me to learn and opened my imagination to the opportunities around me. Years after the torch, bed cover and book (turns out Mum knew all along) I found myself living abroad, in a variety of places, of which most enjoyably was Martinique. A small island in the Caribbean in which I discovered during my studies at university. An island that is fascinating, historically, socially and culturally . Reading has undoubtedly changed the development of my life, altered the choices I have made and the person I have become. Dramatic one could say but upon reflection true.

One day I accompanied my dad on a business trip, a 2 hour meeting progressively became 6 hours. I had wondered the town twice, frequented a few of the cafes, bought a jumper and finally I stumbled upon a large book shop. Bingo. An escape from the cold rainy exterior, an unexplainable warm feeling (not just do to the heating) seeped through me. A sense of being at home surrounded by words, I always feel like bookshops and libraries are special entities, a place with so much potential. My fellow shoppers looked equally as contented and this leads me to believe that a world in which everyone is reading would be a calmer and happier one. Have you ever seen anyone holding a book looking angry?

No one is denying our world is a crazy and busy one, but take a moment, you don’t need hours but stop letting your brain cells die one by one and use them. Give way to a happier, more progressive, and hopeful future. A future that is all the more brighter because of the gift of reading. World wars may be avoided, new medicines developed, climate change more of a manageable task all because you made 10 minutes in your day to read, to question, to develop and to improve, yourself on a personal level and on a worldwide level. One person can make a difference.

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”

~Nelson Mandela

--

--