Nora’s Notes

Random Identity Rant

Because I’m tired of being omitted

Nora Lyn Larch
Nora’s Notes
Published in
2 min readSep 14, 2022

--

Title: Random Identity Rant
 Subtitle: Because I’m tired of being omitted
 Writer: Nora Lyn Larch, in Nora’s Notes on Medium
Photo by Yan Krukov

Left out again.

If you’re a writer who compares the traits of autistics with neurotypicals, this post might be for you. It’s not intended as a criticism, but rather a humble request.

I represent the allistic neurodivergent population. Many writers sweep us under the rug.

How?

By using the term “neurotypical” to describe everyone who isn’t autistic.

I’m not autistic, but I’m also not neurotypical.

Autistic people are neurodivergent. Allistic people can be too. Neurotypical people are not.

An allistic neurodivergent person is someone who isn’t autistic but has some kind of cognitive difference, like ADHD or giftedness (only two examples of a long list of possibilities).

We’re a highly diverse group. Some of us have autistic characteristics, so we can relate to posts written by autistic authors. We also have NT traits, so we understand some of their experience too.

However, we don’t belong to either group.

If you’re an allistic neurodivergent reader like me, you often find yourself engaged in a comparison…

--

--

Nora Lyn Larch
Nora’s Notes

I'm a mom, wife, dog owner, and health writer outside of Medium. My real name isn't Nora, but Medium is where I write about what I really think.