“We are not going to reach the 17 Goals by 2030 if nobody knows them!”

The Global Goals explained on guided tours in Copenhagen. Eva Diekmann (Dk)

Nordisk Baerekraft
NORDISK BÆREKRAFT 2016
2 min readJan 14, 2017

--

Contact: evadiekmann@mac.com

Træmand, treeman. Photo E. Dickmann

Summary

Copenhagen is known as one of the most sustainable cities in the world. Working as a guide I want to give my guest an introduction to sustainability while visiting Copenhagen.

For me it is important to inspire by visiting some of the sights and projects where sustainable frontrunners, companies, civil organisations, the citizens, the municipality or a mix of these, have made a difference.

While participating the course, Nordic Sustainability, I got the idea to use the United Nations 17 Global Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) as a frame for my communication.

The strength of the SDGs is that they are global. All 193 countries have agreed on these goals. A common language together with a colourful design makes them a frame for talking about sustainable development wherever in the world you are from.

One of the challenges for the UN right now is to make people aware of the SDG’s. As said: ”We are not going to reach the 17 Goals by 2030 if nobody knows them”.

I can contribute to address two challenges with my guided tours of Copenhagen.

A: Make visitors aware of the SDG’s,

B: Give visitors hands on examples and experiences of how daily life and daily life routines can be a part of the solution to reach the SDG’s by 2030.

My idea is to use classical Copenhagen highlights and some of the nice and more hidden spots as an entry to communicate the SDG’s.

Using the SDG´s as frame for guided tours, gives me a perfect platform. It gives me the possibility to talk about the good examples, the challenges, the complexity and the very important thing, that everything is connected.

--

--