Is paid reviews unethical? Or a necessity?

Mark Ian Norsbook
Norsbook’s KDP Journey
5 min readApr 5, 2024

--

This article does not provide the answer to the above title. I will leave that for individuals to decide based on their own conscience. However, in the following, I will share my experiences on this topic.

However, there should be no doubt whatsoever that I would never, and I mean never, resort to using the method myself if my own stance was that it is unethical, or if I feared that Amazon might decide to close my account

Image created with MidJourney

The background for this topic, in my case, is that I have struggled considerably to get reviews on my books. I have attempted to utilize the methods, among others, that I have described here:

It all started when I had only received a few ratings and no reviews at all on my books, despite having sold more than 350 in total. I am aware that these are very small numbers. If one gathers data on the quantities some other authors’ books sell and compares it with their number of reviews, it is clear that it generally takes a long time to accumulate a larger quantity of reviews.

But what really began to bother me was when I…

--

--