From the Source: Regular North Carolinians Hurt by Trump-Tillis Tax Bill

North Carolina Democrats
North Carolina
Published in
3 min readApr 17, 2019

The Trump-Tillis tax scheme burdens hardworking North Carolinians with smaller refunds and higher tax bills.

If you’re a middle-class North Carolinian, chances are Tax Day wasn’t so happy for you thanks to Donald Trump and Senator Thom Tillis. While big corporations paid nothing, North Carolinians got slapped with smaller refunds and higher tax bills. Among those hardest hit are…

Small business owners

“I am from a regular middle class family in NC and a small business owner… I just got my taxes done and I am paying over $5000 more in taxes this year for almost exactly the same revenue. The new tax laws are not benefiting the middle class as promised.”

The Middle and Working Class

“Thanks to Trump and Tillis, our family will not receive a refund like in the past. Instead we will have to make monthly payments to pay off the debt. This is money we need for our son’s college.”

“I’m a 64 year old widow, who has to still work because of my husband’s death 6 years ago. I can’t afford to retire, because I’m paying off debt for my daughter’s college education. My tax objective has always been to break even. However, this year is the worst ever! Because of the loss of many deductions, my tax bill is almost $10,000. I have to either take out a loan, or make monthly paymentsto pay it off.”

Retirees

“I am a retired teacher. Last year I had to borrow a thousand dollars to pay my taxes. So I saved up $2,400 to cover this year’s taxes thinking that would be plenty since we were given a tax cut. I was shocked to learn that I was STILL $1,124 short. I work two part-time jobs to supplement my pension.”

“I’m retired & on a fixed income. Last year I received a federal refund of $3,400.00. This year I owed the federal government $1,640. So much for helping the average citizen.”

Students

“I work part time for the school system to make ends meet. My tax refund for the past ten years, usually 600–700 dollars, has made up the summertime shortage. This year my total refund was only $18. What will I do without until school starts again?”

#TBT to when Donald Trump claimed the average American family would get $4,000 from the Trump tax. Instead, everyday North Carolinians are struggling with lower refunds and higher tax bills because Thom Tillis turned his back on our state.

We can’t let Tillis get away with putting corporations, Donald Trump, and his billionaire buddies before North Carolinians and their families. Add your name if you’re going to hold him accountable in 2020.

--

--

North Carolina Democrats
North Carolina

The official Medium account of the North Carolina Democratic Party. www.ncdp.org — Follow us on Twitter & Facebook: @NCDemParty