1 Thing You Should Never Write About

But, you have been writing it for so long

Susmitha Reddy
Nostalgia
3 min readJan 4, 2018

--

I have a habit of maintaining dairy, penning down my thoughts. I maintain a journal of my activities, especially when I get too emotional or when things get tough in life where I don’t feel like sharing things with others. I seek solace in writing, dumping my thoughts in dairy.

An year ago, when I was emotionally down, I was reluctant to share my thoughts with others fearing people to be judgemental. Apart from it, I had my own insecurities and trust issues to believe others to listen to me and hold my matters. I neither want to depend on others for emotional support nor blast my brain with accumulated thoughts, so, I chose to write and put down my thoughts, so as to relieve myself from the garbage of things flooding in my mind.

Words began to flow non stop with my hand running through lines flipping the pages. I used to write everyday then. After a few days, I went through what I wrote. I re-read my writings to see how far I have come and what all struggles I have been through which made me the strong and resilient person I am. But, this time, something hit me hard.

I was amazed and ashamed to see what I wrote.

I wrote everything about how I didn’t want my life to be. It was the biggest mistake I ever made.

Prior to it, I was shocked as to why life wasn’t changing, though I was wishing for something better. It was then, I found answer to why.

I was crystal clear about what I didn’t want in life and how I didn’t want my life to be, but not a single point about how I desired my life to be. As a result, my whole focus shifted on to what I didn’t want rather than what I wanted. The more I was clear with what I didn’t want in life, the more I attracted a life I didn’t wish for. How can I get a life I wished for, when all I ever thought about was what I didn’t want in life. As a consequence, my previous relation failed exactly in a way I wished not to happen. The break up left an indelible mark on me.

I made an introspection after this incident, which changed me into a whole new person now.

Now, I never think about what I don’t want. Be it in relations, love, job, family, friends or any other part of life, I precisely desire for what I want and think only about how I want my life to be. I focus on the way of life I desire, not a minuscule thought about what I hate. The moment I shifted my focus from what I don’t want, to what I want, my life has changed. Life began to unveil itself in a beautiful way as I expected. I began to see the incidents unfold as I truly wished for.

Now, whenever I write, what so ever mood I am in, how so ever life is happening, I never write about what I don’t want, but only about what I want.

Never focus on what you don’t want, rather focus on what you want and see your dreams become real.

--

--

Susmitha Reddy
Nostalgia

I think deep but I often wonder if it’s a boon or bane. So, I write to find solace.