AUTHOR’S BIO

The Enigmatic Lori Carlson

An Introduction

Ravyne Hawke
Not For Bedtime Stories
4 min readOct 22, 2021

--

Image of Lori Carlson by Author

And so this is me, the face behind the enigmatic author. Not what you expected? Well, me either. Nonetheless, it’s true.

WHO IS LORI CARLSON?

I am a poet, fiction and creative nonfiction writer, essayist, artist, and dreamer.

I began my writing career at the tender age of ten by creating my own myth stories and delighting my 5th grade English teacher with my tales. She encouraged me to write and would keep a box of writing ideas on her desk for me to choose from after I’d finished my classwork for the day. By my teens, I began crafting poetry as a means to keep a diary that discouraged my brother from reading it. I can only imagine his face the first time he picked up my journal and saw poetry scribbled in it. His words were probably, “Ew, poetry!” It worked though. He never read my diary again after that.

By the time I finished High School, I had at least a dozen notebooks filled with poetry and short fiction. Most of it was horrendous! I can say that now, not that my ego suggests that I am an amazing writer. I still have much to learn. I would go on to college at Hollins University in Roanoke, VA where I earned a BA in English and a MA in Liberal Studies. I put myself through college publishing erotica in a few British…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Not For Bedtime Stories

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh