Photo of COVID conscientious (perhaps stagecoach robbing) Author. By: Author

Psparkles Psychosis (episode one)

Unapologetically Devoid of Sanity…Lover of Straight-Razors and fluffy puppies.

Cara J. Jaye
5 min readDec 17, 2021

--

There was something about me he didn’t like. Well, I didn’t like anything at all about him. Of that I was certain. Those kind of eyes I don’t trust. The kind that dart away- scattersome… like roaches when the curtain lifts. Those make-me-nervous type eyes, those were the sort he had. Shifty-like. Unfond of meeting other eyes. Once self-certain, a hopeful young doctor, now a shell. Opaquely occluded with ghosts, for most of which, his mourning was vicarious. Once in a while shaken from his own ruminations, he actually listened, and heard the unfortunate lives most of his patients endured. Years of this emotional spew had deadened his interest wholly.

Still, I had to see him once a week, to continue getting my crazy pills prescribed. What the hell did he know, anyway? He was the one person, if there was any on earth, imbued with more of an antisocial personality than I have.

Bored, half-heartedly I wondered if the receptionist would fuss if just I got up out of my seat, and blatantly stole one of the noxiously cheery holiday decals off of the waiting room window…Maybe the stereotypical broken-capillaries of “rosy-cheeked”… jolly, jiggly old anglo-saxon Santa… or maybe the tastefully vague “Happy Holidays”…

--

--

Cara J. Jaye

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/CJJaye Queer, neurodivergent, equestrian poetess and author. Champion of underdogs, under-represented folks, and animals in need.