Your Meal Prep Strategy to Reduce Food Waste

Kristen Eleanor
Not Kale Salad
Published in
7 min readNov 2, 2019

--

Stop throwing away hundreds of dollars away each month, and save the planet.

Sustainable meal prep, extends beyond weekly food preparation. (Photo by me).

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear “meal prep”? For me — it often brings about images of towers of Tupperware with identical portions of generic looking foods; usually a combination of chicken, rice and broccoli all under an unflattering instagram filter. Subsequently, the hashtags #mealprepgoals and #gains usually trail such photos.

As a university student, I have tried to streamline my meal prep strategy in an effort to reduce my time spent preparing meals during the week, spend less on groceries and ultimately cut down on the amount of food waste I create each week (there are few things that break my heart more than tossing a bag of unused, wilted spinach, molding strawberries or curdled soy milk at the end of the week due to my poor food management skills).

My failed attempts to meal prep efficiently provides endless anecdotes. It’s easy to forget the 1/2 kg of pre-cooked quinoa left in the fridge for a week, or the salad that has that lovely metallic taste by Tuesday. And let’s not forget that trying-to-not-feel-guilty-feeling when I buy a $13 meal at the cafeteria knowing very well that I have edible, but tasteless and failed dish of meal prep in the fridge back home.

--

--