Jala Song Translation Competition 2020

Jala Translate
Not Lost In Translation
3 min readFeb 20, 2020

It’s International Mother Language Day!

To honour this celebration, we at Jala are running a song translation competition until the 13th of March 2020.

Selected winners stand a chance to win a 3-month Babbel language subscription and a chance to be featured on our blog!

All you have to do is translate the song Louis Armstrong’s What A Wonderful World from English into your mother tongue language(s)*.

*You can submit as many entries as you like in the language pairing of your choice! I.e. One translation into Chinese and one into Japanese, if you’re comfortable in both!

“What A Wonderful World
Lyrics

I see trees of green
Red roses too
I see them bloom
For me and you
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue
And clouds of white
The bright blessed day
The dark sacred night
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow
So pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces
Of people going by
I see friends shaking hands
Saying, “How do you do?”
They’re really saying
“I love you”.

I hear babies cry
I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more
Than I’ll never know
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world.

Here’s how you can win:

1. Like our post and follow us on Facebook or Instagram.

2. Sign up on Jala as a user!

2. Go to your Workspace to create a new project.

3. Create a new private project.

4. Paste the song lyrics into the text box:

5. Create a project titled “Jala Competition 2020 — Submission”.
Choose your desired Translation Language.
You may only submit one entry per language category.

6. Upload any image and click “submit” to complete the steps.

7. Begin translating! When you’re done, click “Complete project”.

Complete it by March 13th, 2020 to submit your entry!

Have fun translating and all the best!

Winners will be announced via email on March 20th. By entering the competition, you agree for Jala to feature your translation on our blog should you win.

--

--

Jala Translate
Not Lost In Translation

Jala is a community-powered translation platform connecting people and translations across the globe.