Invisible

Mayra Gomes
Not Poetry
Published in
Dec 13, 2020

No matter where I sit,
Or where I stand,
Whether I stay or go.

No matter what I do,
Or what I don’t do,
I’m not sure I’m here.

Nothing reassures me I am.
All that is me goes unseen.
Invisible in plain sight.
Hidden before your eyes.

In the middle of the square,
Mid-day, all bright, I wear black.
Do you see me yet?

The sunshine knows I’m there,
It coats my face, blinds my eyes and
Makes my hair look lighter than it is.

Maybe it sees me, and I’m here, after all.
Or maybe the sun just shines as bright as it can,
Not choosing where its light lands.

I would ask the sun,
But I doubt it would hear my voice.
Am I not really here at all?

For more Poetry & Art, check out my Instagram: @memento.mori.lab

©Mayra Gomes. All rights reserved.

--

--