Perfect

Mayra Gomes
Not Poetry
Published in
1 min readOct 11, 2020

Is perfect a perfect word?
If I say perfect enough times,
Do I take away its power?
And if I never say it again,
Will it be something greater?

Maybe, if I rearrange the letters,
It might read better, roll off the tongue.
Like paradox, or marmalade, perfect.
How about preceft? Or trepfec?
That is absolutely ferpect.

What if I remove some letters?
Or add new ones, instead.
An L is always nice here and there.
Maybe I should add in a Q,
To make it sound more unique.

Wait! Put in a W for some wompf.
Werfect, perfect. I don’t know,
It seems to be missing something.
It’s not perfect just yet.

I’ll have to come back to this later,
With fresh eyes, you know?

For more Poetry & Art, check out my Instagram: @memento.mori.lab

©Mayra Gomes. All rights reserved.

--

--