The Water

Mayra Gomes
Not Poetry
Published in
1 min readDec 27, 2020

I’ve always loved the water.
I could swim for hours on end,
Until my hands would age,
And my lips would turn purple,
While others stood, wrapped in towels.

I remember diving in the deep end of the pool,
Holding my breath for as long as I could
Just to touch the bright blue vinyl floor,
Until I had to kick it back up for air.
A pool, despite how deep, is shallow.

In the ocean, I was never so brave.
I could never reach the bottom and back.
I liked the waves and the motion,
But the mystery of what crawled underneath,
Made me choose the pools instead.

The ocean was never so tamed,
One look at it, and I’d get lost for hours.
My feet were always unsure of the next step,
And my life’s reflection is just the same.
I chose shallow waters over depth every time.

For more Poetry & Art, check out my Instagram: @memento.mori.lab

©Mayra Gomes. All rights reserved.

--

--