Nikacia Shear
Not With That Attitude
4 min readJul 23, 2019

--

How To Say “Yes” [Insert Intimidating/Scary But Cool Thing You Want To Do Here]

I said “Yes” to a sprint triathlon. When I put it like that it sounds like I accepted an engagement ring from the sporting event. In a way, the triathlon and I were in a relationship. I’d been toying with the idea of doing one since my dad and mom did one SIX years ago. So you can say the courtship was long and I was playing hard to get.

But why was I play hard to get? The triathlon and I were a perfect match on paper. I was and have been athletic since then, I swam competitively, I can run a 10-minute mile without stopping, and I know how to ride a bike.

Where’s the problem? I had a fear of failing at something I had never done before. After finishing my first triathlon in June 2019 I found I had a formula for finally saying “Yes” the intimidating/scary thing that would be really cool. So here’s how to stop playing hard to get and get your happily ever after (wink).

1. Set Your Goal and State Your “Why”

First, decide why you’re doing this triathlon. Without a goal/reason your journey can be brutal and turn negative and you might just fail one week into it if your hearts not in it!

My personal goal was two-fold, I missed competitive swimming and A triathlon was the only way I knew how to compete against other swimmers again. My second reason was I wanted to set myself on training schedule so I would be forced to work out because my workout motivation was in the negatives.

2. Find Way To Be Held Accountable (Get Resourceful)

Now that you have goals set you need someone to keep you accountable for example, to seal the deal for myself I went and found 1,000 accountability partners. I posted a photo on Instagram stating that “I, Nikki Shear, will be doing a triathlon” (well, it was a little more in-depth than that, but you get the idea). Peer pressure can be useful in the right context.

If you aren’t ready to blast your goal on IG or you don’t use social media that’s fine. I suggest you just take one small step and talk about your goal out loud. Tell your dog, tell yourself in the mirror, then tell your mom, then your co-workers. TELL THE UNIVERSE, DAMMIT. Talk about it out loud and it gets a little more legit, a little more attainable.

3. Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is

This step could be the scariest but also the most effective depending on your personality. Put your money in your dream baby, KA-CHING! Once I paid the $100+ fee I was too cheap to waste a good triathlon and not show up prepared to kick ass. Also, since I’m so competitive I had this fear that if didn’t train I would embarrass myself. Nothing like pride to get you to put your running shoes on.

Jenna Kutcher, the host of The Goal Digger Podcast, consistently says “Invest in yourself” and she means entrepreneurs have to invest in their blog, logo, and products in order to see growth. I know super scary to put that money down, but is it really that scary when you think about what your goal is? Let it motivate you.

4. Give Yourself Permission

Finally, give yourself permission. You deserve to take the time for your body to train for a triathlon, you deserve that vacation, you deserve to start the business you dream of. But also, give yourself permission to FUCK UP. You’re not perfect, it won’t be easy, and that’s okay. You got this. And when you say “yes” that’s the kind of attitude that can help you accomplish our goal.

I wish you well on using the formula, and I hope you test it out as well as the theory that you can do anything with the right attitude.

If you’re wondering how my first triathlon went, the honeymoon period is still going. I finished 10th out of 118 women and first in my age group. I will do another one next summer for sure.

--

--

Nikacia Shear
Not With That Attitude

Testing the theory that you can do anything with the right attitude.