Coming to Terms With Turning 30

Notes on passing time.

Aure's Notes
Notes

--

Photo by Samule Sun on Unsplash

“It will never end”.

These were my first thoughts when I entered first grade (I was six) as I contemplated the six years ahead at school.

One year seemed like such a long period of time that I thought it would last forever.

Content with the idea, I relaxed into my student role and accepted the bargain life had given me: do well at school, and let your parents take care of the rest.

For eternity.

I was painfully made aware of the reality of time when I stood one morning in the rain, waiting for the first day at secondary school.

My world had rocked over.

I was slowly but surely leaving childhood to enter teenagehood and all the problems that came along.

Puberty, girlfriends (or lack thereof), drugs, parties, responsibilities.

I was disappointed.

I didn’t want any of it. It didn’t amuse me and I didn’t see the point.

I was happy as a boy. Why couldn’t I remain one?

I went through teenagehood refusing to partake in its decadence to emerge at 19, relieved.

--

--

Aure's Notes
Notes
Editor for

2X Msc in pol. science and business econ. Summarized +100 books. 25k people read auresnotes.com. From Belgium. No niche.