Challenging Convictions: A Tale of Contradictions, Critical Thinking, and Personal Growth

Ewerton Lopes
Notes for the future
2 min readDec 25, 2023

I receive a call from someone I know seeking support, and, as is my way, I offer my opinion, often with unwavering confidence. However, the person claims to have taken an opposed approach to my response, which seems, at first glance, completely illogical.

Driven by curiosity, I decide to investigate while the person consults another friend. Surprisingly, this second interlocutor endorses the first one’s version. Faced with this, I realize the need for critical thinking, as the situation seems absurd and bewildering. With a skeptical stance, I begin to examine the original response given by me and conclude that it is not the most accurate. However, I also acknowledge that the alternative suggested by the other person is far from correct.

Excessive consumption is a sign of an impoverished existence.
Foto de Kenny Eliason en Unsplash

I appreciate the value of critical thinking in moments like these, as it allows me to discern the truth, even when my initial convictions seem unshakable. This experience led me to develop a personal theory about knowledge, unfolding in four distinct phases: in the first, absolute certainty prevails; in the second, critical thinking emerges; in the third, I can impartially analyze the merits and demerits of my own opinion; and, in the fourth, a portal opens, revealing new and intriguing questions to be explored. This journey demonstrates the fluidity of knowledge and the importance of remaining open to the evolution of our convictions.

Reflecting on critical thinking, I observe the cluster of things on the TV stand and realize that space has run out. Books of all shades fill the space, covering everything from high science to topics like economics, business, health, art, and biographies. Some in English, others in Portuguese and Spanish, and several in French, which I am currently learning. An epiphany reveals how immersed I am in consumerism, particularly in the realm of education, culture, and art.

I question myself if this incessant pursuit is not just the adherence to some passing trend. Perhaps, as Gilles Lipovetsky suggests, “fashion for intellectuals is the devil.” However, I wonder again if trying to be an intellectual is not, in itself, following the same trend. At first, I think it is, after all, that fashion, whether intellectual or not, often boils down to the affluent seeking to distinguish themselves, while society follows in its path of imitation. The difference lies in the fact that intellectual fashion/trend opens up new horizons of knowledge and a world of opportunities, while common fashion merely makes us more dependent on consumption.

Once again, I invoke Lipovetsky: “Excessive consumption is a sign of an impoverished existence.” Thus, I urge you to invest in culture, knowledge, and art, hoping that these choices enrich us rather than impoverish us, allowing us to transcend the shackles of rampant consumerism.

--

--