Reflections

James Pang
Notes with James
Published in
2 min readDec 31, 2015

As the last day of 2015 ticks by, naturally you begin to reflect on the what has happened in the past year and think about the things to look forward to in 2016. For me, the big change that occurred was joining the workforce as a software developer and making products that actually produce meaningful effects to something outside of my academic results. It has been tiring, exciting, frightening but most of all satisfying. It was what I was craving for so long.

Apart from work, I have been dedicating myself to learning a new language. Not a computer programming language but a lingual one. It has been frustrating at times feeling like a beginner again, but what a huge motivation it is to see a how much progress I have made compared to where I had started.

I hope 2016 will be a year of huge growth for me. In every sense of the word. Now I have settled into the workforce, I want to push my career as far as I can take it this year. Do things I never dreamed that I would do even just a couple of years ago. I want to make big strides in my language learning and stay dedicated. I know that this sort of endeavour will not finish in just a couple of weeks or months, but I also know if I fight for it, I can achieve what I want even if it takes years.

I am also contemplating take some time off of work to travel for a bit. I can’t remember the last time I have taken an extended holiday and I think it would be a good opportunity to go out of my comfort zone.

Goodbye 2015, and hello 2016.

--

--