10 Best Korean Dramas 2023

For You And Me
❤️ Nothing But Love For Korean Drama
5 min readMar 15, 2024

I know I am really late to write about the best Korean dramas of 2023! But, there are some things that I want to say about these dramas so badly. Let’s start.

Alchemy of Souls Season 2: Light and Shadow

1. Alchemy of Souls Season 2: Light and Shadow

This drama had an amazing setting that I had never seen in the Korean drama world. I can say it was ideal, equal, colorful, and surreal. “Equal” might seem a bit confusing. What I mean is gender equality that never can be seen in Joseon period dramas. So if you don’t like political historical dramas, this one can amaze you.

One of the advantages of this season compared to season 1 is actress Go YounJung! She did a short but amazing job in season 1 as heartless killer Naksu. “No matter where this killer went, heads dropped on the floor.” This is how she described herself in season 1. In the second season, she truly won my heart with his cuteness and heartwarming relationship with actor Hwang MinHyun.

Hwang Minhyun also did a wonderful job in one of his first roles. His sweatiness and kindness in this drama were very attractive. If you didn’t watch this drama, don’t read this: my favorite sequence was when he hugged YoonJung and stabbed her back. I felt various strong emotions while watching it. It showed how intelligent he is and is ready to sacrifice the one he loves for greater goals. This kind of character is somehow rare in the K-drama world.

2. The Glory Part 2

The Glory Part 2 is the start of the revenge that was planned in Part 1. I must say The Glory Part 2 had a very satisfying planned revenge. I never rewatched any K-dramas. So it is so surprising that I want to rewatch this! Some might say romance between the main lead is forced and not fun. but I actually find them very charming and they could be each other’s hope.

Song HyeKyo again did a great job portraying a hurt person. Most of her fans or other people were really starving to see this kind of role from this actress after those romantic boring dramas like Encounter and Now, we are breaking up. Also, Lim JiYeon finally could get a good role to show her talents. So don’t miss the best Korean revenge drama of 2023 and these talented strong female leads/actresses!

3. Duty After School

Duty After School at first seems like a copy of All of Us Are Dead. But it is completely different and brings new talented actors like LeeYeon and Kim SuGyeom to entertain viewers. Kim SuGyeom was little Kim WooBin in my eyes!

The drama is fun and exciting until the end and even the last episode. Many people didn’t like the ending but I enjoyed it. People said it was really sad and horrifying that it ended up like that. But come on, although the ending is very uncommon in the K-drama world, it is so logical.

4. Taxi Driver Season 2

Taxi Driver Season 2 was on the same level or better than the first season. Because getting revenge in place of others’ stories was exciting again. Also, Lee JeHoon did an amazing job portraying different kinds of characters, especially the psycho one! Esom’s absence didn’t harm the show at all and I wanted to see Kim SoYeon in more than one sequence!

Tale of the Nine-Tailed 1938

5. Tale of the Nine-Tailed 1938

The first season of Tale of the Nine Tailed was very disappointing thanks to Jo BoAh. Also, the writer didn’t know what the hell he was doing. But the second season was surprisingly so fun and unique, which is very rare in the Korean drama world. Besides the fun plot, Kim SoYeon, Kim Bum, and Lee DongWook trio were so entertaining to watch. I miss them a lot!

6. My Perfect Stranger

Kim DongWook has an eye for good and healing K-dramas! Again he picked the high quality and emotionally uplifting drama. Although the romance wasn’t the main genre of the drama, the light tension between leads especially the love confession was so satisfying to watch! This was Kim DongWook’s last project before marriage. Congrats to him and I wish he still could select healing dramas even after it!

7. See You in My 19th Life

Shin HyeSun could surprise viewers again with her amazing acting after Mr. Queen! The plot might not attract some viewers but I liked it especially, the past story. I cried many times with Shin HyeSun when she was calling her mom or when she was crying over his sister’s unfortunate death. She can make me cry easily and it shows how talented she is!

Revenant

8. Revenant

Revenant’s genres are horror, thriller, and mystery. I am a timid cat, so I can’t watch horror dramas. But this one wasn’t that scary and the ghost mostly showed in Kim TaeRi’s body or in shadows. So you can enjoy mystery and thriller genre if you are a timid cat like me!

The mystery story that was revealed in the last episodes deeply affected me and made me rethink my life. “They don’t know what they have”. I will remember this dialogue and feel sad for the ghost who only wanted to draw moons until my grave.

9. Moving

Korea needed a science-fiction TV series like American Heroes so badly! Moving could tell a unique story with common superpowers. Go YounJung and Lee JunHa’s stories at the beginning of the series were so much fun and lovely! Also, veteran actors and actresses did a great job in the later episodes and their fights were intense and exciting.

Death’s Game

10. Death’s Game

Death’s Game was also a fun ride full of talented actors like Kim JaeWook, Kim JiHoon, and Lee DoHyun. The two first actors nailed their psycho roles again and the third one was also able to showcase his talents again. Overall, the main lead’s last body was heartwarming and gave good lessons.

Last Words

I finally could write about the 10 best Korean Dramas of 2023 on 3/15! So, what is your opinion? Do you agree with me or not? why not? I will be glad to hear your opinion here in the comments!

--

--

For You And Me
❤️ Nothing But Love For Korean Drama

If you are looking for a skilled and dedicated content writer, please don't hesitate to message.