Getting Paid as a Writer

The pros and cons.

Noah Nelson
Nothing But Noah
Published in
2 min readAug 6, 2024

--

Photo by Fabian Blank on Unsplash

I always knew I wanted to be a writer and follow that specific career path. But I never thought about the money.

I just wanted to write.

The more I wrote, the more I fell in love with it and wanted to do it every day. Nevertheless, money never came to mind.

I have written hundreds of articles, columns, papers, songs, anything you can think of. I just kept writing and writing, sharpening my skills every day.

When I discovered Medium over three years ago that I could be paid for my work, I finally thought to myself. I had been writing for a long time now for free. It’s a skill I’ve grown to love and better myself at every day.

Maybe it’s time I got paid for it.

Here’s how the journey has been so far:

What Being Paid to Write Has Taught Me

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Bestselling author James Patterson once said:

“You’re lucky if you find something you like to do, and it’s a miracle if somebody will pay you to do…

--

--

Noah Nelson
Nothing But Noah

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alum | Author of “Life: A Collection of Short Stories” and “Dana and Me” | Featured Writer on ILLUMINATION (23x).