How I Became a Better Writer on Medium

And how you can too.

Noah Nelson
Nothing But Noah

--

Photo by Ian Taylor on Unsplash

We don’t learn to write by reading, taking a writing class or reading about writing. Okay, in some ways, we do.

But in other ways, we learn the act of writing by writing.

Yes, writing itself.

Similar to an artist or athlete or any skill for that matter, we become better at it when we do it all the time. I have become a better writer on Medium over the years.

Here’s how:

I Stay Consistent on Medium

Photo by Erez Attias on Unsplash

These are my tools of the trade to consistency on Medium.

  • I show up every day.
  • I plan out my work day.
  • I take action.
  • I track my progress.
  • I keep going.

I treat Medium like a business. I treat it like owning a pet. If you don’t believe me, read on:

--

--

Noah Nelson
Nothing But Noah

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alum | Author of “Life: A Collection of Short Stories” and “Dana and Me” | Featured Writer on ILLUMINATION (23x).