The Importance of An Idea Bank — A Key to Great Writing

Noah Nelson
Nothing But Noah
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Photo by Darío Méndez on Unsplash

I once participated in a writing challenge.

It was tasked to create one brand new idea each day for a month, write those ideas in a slip of paper and put them in a jar.

I did not open the jar of ideas until the end of the month.

Gosh, were there many ideas.

As I thumbed through them, I thought of something. This was like a piggy bank. Of course!

An Idea Bank!

I then converted this “bank” into a list of all my ideas. It’s a list I go back to again and again, seeing what works and what doesn’t.

Now, an idea bank is wonderful to have. Here’s how it’s beneficial to me:

It Keeps Me Writing More

Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

The more ideas I have, the more I can write.

It’s as simple as that.

Yes and no. Some of my ideas don’t work. That’s okay though. Not all of them will work.

But the good ideas tend to linger on until they are fully fleshed out. The best ideas never seem to leave.

--

--

Noah Nelson
Nothing But Noah

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alum | Author of “Life: A Collection of Short Stories” and “Dana and Me” | Featured Writer on ILLUMINATION (23x).