Cartesian Skepticism

Matthew Bice
NOTHING IS AS IT SEEMS
2 min readDec 5, 2018

René Descartes a 17th century philosopher famous for his belief in not believing. Cartesian Skepticism discusses the idea that you cannot rightfully believe anything without adequate reason behind your beliefs. To truly do this you must question every belief you have as if it is false, your ideas are false until proven true.

I do not recommend you act the same as Descartes, and sit in a dark room for a few days doubting your own existence. However in doing that he created a fundamental idea in philosophical thought today. Cogito Ergo Sum, latin for I think therefore I am. He realized even though his physical body may not be real that somehow he is thinking so he exists in some capacity.

Much can be learned from Descartes philosophical ideas. He taught that you must reason behind your beliefs and cannot just believe to believe. You must support everything with philosophical thought. This equates perfectly with Ockham’s Razor which states the most plausible idea is the one which requires the least assumptions.

Cartesian Skepticism combined with Ockham’s Razor allow for a real world with questions lying beneath. For instance I can believe my physical body is real as it required less assumption than believing my entire existence is a hallucination. But why do I exist? Was I put here by somebody? Does my existence serve a greater purpose?

These are all questions there is not a definitive answer to. However with use of Ockham’s Razor you can narrow down what you believe and why.

I encourage you to find your true beliefs through questioning things in your daily life. Don’t believe just to believe.

--

--

Matthew Bice
NOTHING IS AS IT SEEMS

It’s gonna be a good, good life that’s what my therapist say.