How Dusting Off the Eisenhower Matrix 10x my Productivity

Joris Baker
Notion Next
Published in
5 min readMar 22, 2024

--

Productivity = defined priorities + time management

Photo by Fernando Hernandez on Unsplash

A goal without a plan is just a wish

As an operations manager at a bustling startup, my days are filled with managing all sort of projects, each with its own set of detailed tasks. Beyond the projects themselves, there’s a team to lead, requiring me to judiciously assign tasks and consistently monitor their progress. Over the years, I’ve cycled through various methods to keep everything on track, yet, amidst the frenetic pace, I invariably gravitated back to the simplicity of basic, albeit uninspiring, to-do lists. However, during peak times, this method felt overwhelmingly inadequate.

In the midst of this chaos:

  • I yearned for simplicity amidst complexity.
  • I sought clarity in the cacophony of tasks.
  • I needed a method that adapts, just as a conductor adjusts to the orchestra’s tempo.

The Eisenhower Matrix, praised by peers I admire, was a method I had long been curious about. Marrying this curiosity with my passion for Notion, an idea struck me like the first note of a symphony. Why not use my affinity for automation to breathe new life into this age-old matrix?

--

--