From DigitalOcean to OpenShift

Talor Berthelson
NotMostly
Published in
2 min readMay 28, 2016

I started this new iteration of Not Mostly in 2014 as a small blog where I felt I could tell the world about the ideas in my mind that sometimes flow faster than I can write. When searching around as to what type of blog I should use, I found Ghost to be the option that made the most sense. Ghost is simple, elegant, and was easy to install. Not being pleased with the pricing options offered at the official Ghost host, I decided to host it myself.

DigitalOcean is a great place to work on projects and have them hosted in about the most simple possible way. Installing Ghost was as easy as clicking a button, and it’s cheap too.

However, I recently wondered if there was a way to host the Ghost blog with spending even less money. I found all sorts of static site generators that would let me host the blog on places like GitHub pages for free. I tried some of these generators out and decided I just didn’t quite like it. I understand why running static sites is ultimately the more optimal option for a simple blog such as this but none of the generators just seemed to work like I wanted them to. Close, but not quite there.

Searching further, I found OpenShift from RedHat. They offer a free tier (not just a free trial) and Ghost was also extremely easy to install. A few hours of tinkering and I had everything looking and feeling the exact same way it was on DigitalOcean. The only difference was that the OpenShift installation one is free, and doesn’t allow for as much tinkering as I might like. Knowing the limitations, I’ve gone and made the switch.

As the tech changes and services come and go, I’m sure I’ll switch again at some point. The important part is that Ghost makes it easy, and as long as the Markdown format exists, I’ll find somewhere to blog.

--

--

Talor Berthelson
NotMostly

A thirsty individual. I want to eat power pellets. Waka Waka. Waka.